Now Reading
NZ vs ENG 2019: Jason Roy Badly Trolled for His Reaction after Being Ruled Out from the Test Squad

NZ vs ENG 2019: Jason Roy Badly Trolled for His Reaction after Being Ruled Out from the Test Squad

Jason Roy

England have recently announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming Test series against New Zealand. Unfortunately, Jason Roy failed to make it to the squad after a rather forgetful Ashes series.

Jason Roy made his Test debut against Ireland, ahead of the Ashes series 2019. He started off with a half-century but failed to carry forward that form against Australia. He looked far from being even an average Test opener. Roy managed to score only 110 runs in 8 innings at an average of 13.75. However, seeing this, it was expected that Roy will not be in the Test squad against New Zealand.

Alongside Roy, wicketkeeper-batsman Jonny Bairstow has also been ruled out of the squad. In his absence, Jos Buttler is expected to be the wicketkeeper while Ollie Pope, who last played a Test in August 2018, has been named as a back-up role. The two tests which will begin from November 21 will not be a part of the ICC World Test Championship.

Jason Roy
Jason Roy

Meanwhile, Jason Roy expressed his disappointment of not getting a chance in the squad on Twitter.

“Gutted to have missed out on the test squad for NZ, but best of luck to all the lads. Hard work continues and always looking forward!,” he tweeted.

However, the fans reacted vividly and most of them have trolled him.

Four players have earned their maiden call-up, they are – Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Matthew Parkinson and Saqib Mahmood. Sibley scored 1,324 runs in the County Championship for Warwickshire and expected to play well. On the other hand, 21-year-old Crawley has earned his place after scoring a whopping 820 runs.

Parkinson is set to give support to Jack Leach while Mahmood has been included as England’s leading wicket-taker James Anderson is still out of contention because of his calf injury.

Test squad: Rory Burns, Joe Denly, Dominic Sibley, Joe Root (Captain), Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ollie Pope, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Sam Curran and Jack Leach

Scroll To Top