NZ vs IND 2020: Rohit Sharma Returns to T20I Squad for New Zealand Series

By 5 months ago

India vice-captain Rohit Sharma has returned to the 16-member T20I squad for upcoming New Zealand tour. Along with him, Mohammed Shami has also returned in the hut. However, they have dropped Sanju Samson. India’s first T20I against New Zealand will take place on January 24th in Auckland.

One of the talented batsmen in the circuit, Samson played the final T20I game against Sri Lanka. He scored six of two deliveries. He is currently in New Zealand with India A team. India thrashed Sri Lanka by 2-0 in the T20I series as the first game did not take place due to rain.

Rohit Sharma

On the other hand, Hardik Pandya has failed the fitness test and eventually ruled out of India A team. All-rounder Vijay Shankar has been selected as a replacement. He will join the team. They will play two 50-over warm-up games, three List A games and two four-day unofficial Tests.

Related Post

Meanwhile, the selection committee led by chairman MSK Prasad did not announce the ODI and Test squads for the time being. It is believed that because of Hardik Pandya, it did not take place. There was no surprise in the bowling department. Be it spin duo Kul-Cha or Navdeep Saini, everyone performed well in the recently concluded series. Moreover, Shardul Thakur has impressed everyone with his all-round ability.

Hardik Pandya

“There are no surprises in the Indian T20 squad with Rohit as usual coming back in place of Sanju, who is already in New Zealand with the A team. All the other players picked themselves,” a senior BCCI official said to PTI.

India’s T20I squad for NZ tour

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice-captain), KL Rahul, S Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur

Disqus Comments Loading...