PAK v SL 2019: PCB, SLC Reschedule the Second ODI

September 27, 2019 8:09 pm

The ongoing Pakistan vs Sri Lanka series holds a very important part for not only cricket fans but also for Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). With this series, One Day International cricket returned to Karachi after a long wait of 10 years. But it seems like they will have to wait for another few days as the first game of the series was washed out on Friday (27 September).

However, seeing this and due to heavy rains in Karachi, the PCB has discussed with SLC and both the boards have decided to reschedule the game. Earlier the second ODI was about to take place on September 29. Now it has shifted to September 30.

Pakistan cricket team ©Oli SCARFF / AFP

The decision was taken in order to give the ground-staff an extra day to ensure the match takes place in a better playing condition. Heavy rain has left the outfield soggy and the groundsmen required, at least, two complete days to make the field ready for the next game.

“This week’s unseasonal heavy rains have forced us to review the series schedule. I am thankful to Sri Lanka Cricket as well as our host broadcasters for agreeing to amend the match schedule to ensure there are no further abandonments due to rain in what is an important bilateral FTP series for Pakistan,” Zakir Khan, the PCB director said while talking about the rains in Karachi.

The PCB has also announced that the tickets sold for Friday, 27 September, will be valid for either 30 September or 2 October ODI. Whereas the tickets which were sold for Sunday game on September 29 can also be used for either September 30 or October 2 ODI. Even as per the PCB ticketing policy for the series, the PCB will give a full refund of all tickets whoever will be unable to attend Monday’s match.

Sri Lanka Team

However, as many as ten Sri Lanka players opted out of the upcoming tour of Pakistan due to security issues. Among the players who opted out are Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal, Dinesh Chandimal and Dimuth Karunaratne, giving the opportunity for the youngsters to play.

Lahiru Thirimanne will lead the ODI side whereas Dasun Shanaka will lead the T20I side as the regular captains were among those players who chose to back out from the tour.

Tags: CricketPCB
Disqus Comments Loading...