PAK vs SL 2019: Pakistan ODI Squad Announced – Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali Excluded

September 21, 2019 1:25 pm

Pakistan have announced their 16-member ODI squad for the upcoming series against Sri Lanka. While all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz and batsman Iftikhar Ahmed have been named in the squad, the star bowler duo Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali are going to miss the series due to health issues.

Mohammed Nawaz made a great impact in the inaugural season of the Pakistan Super League. The 25-year-old, however, failed to grab attention later as an all-rounder, especially with the bat and slipped out of the ODI team after the Asia Cup last September. However, an unbeaten century in last week’s first-class game against Khyber Pakhtunkhwa earned him the recall in the national team again.

Iftikhar Ahmed, on the other hand, last played in ODI in 2015. The 29-year-old impressed in the domestic List A competition earlier this year. He slammed two centuries and a fifty in three successive games which made sure his return in the squad again.

Shaheen Afridi

However, Pakistan will not get the service of fast bowlers Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali and Mohammad Hasnain. While Shaheen Afridi has been recovering from dengue, Hasan Ali continues to suffer by a back issue. Moreover, a rough-patch with the ball cost him a place in the playing XI in the latter half of the ICC World Cup 2019.

Mohammad Hafeez, who had a poor campaign in the World Cup in England, and the veteran player Shoaib Malik, who announced his retirement from the format, are the other players absent.

The three-match ODI series will begin in Karachi on September 27 and will be followed by three T20Is in Lahore.

Pakistan ODI squad:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (Captain, Wicket-keeper), Babar Azam, Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hasnain, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari, Wahab Riaz

Disqus Comments Loading...