PlayStation Will Introduce An Enhanced Trophy and Level System Tonight

October 7, 2020 11:39 pm

PlayStation has recently brought about changes in its trophy system. The changes will roll out tonight and will include new trophy levels, level calculation structure, and trophy level icons. The Director of Project Management at Sony Interactive Entertainment, Toshimasa Aoki, announced this in detail in a PS official blog post.

“You’ve all heard that satisfying sound when a Trophy pops up on the corner of your screen. There’s the sense of accomplishment when that ultra-rare Platinum trophy is unlocked after hours of pursuing.

“Trophies were first introduced on PlayStation 3, and have been an integral part of the PlayStation gaming experience. Today, we’re excited to announce we’re bringing some enhancements to the Trophy system.”

Stakes get higher for trophies with the enhanced level system

One of the major changes to the trophy system is the addition of new levels. Instead of the earlier “1-100” level system, PlayStation will now have levels ranging up to 999. However, this will not affect your current level. Instead, the system will rather enhance it. Aoki explains:

“For example, if your current Trophy level is 12, your new level will jump to somewhere in the low 200’s. The exact level will depend on the number and grades of trophies you’ve acquired. There will be no changes to the Trophies already earned or Trophy information, such as unlock requirements.”

However, this does not mean that previous PS users will lose their trophies when they make the shift to the upcoming PS5 console. Like always, these trophies will be transferred to the user on their new console directly.

With enhanced levels, PlayStation will be getting new Trophy icons as well

With enhanced levels, the trophy system icons will undergo a change as well. The current trophies icon is just a single gold star. Aoki says that devs at Sony Interactive are already updating the trophy icons for the upcoming PS5, and it will be available on the PlayStation app as well after a while. With this enhancement, here is what the trophy distinction will be like:

  • Bronze: levels 1-299
  • Silver: levels 300 – 599
  • Gold: levels 600 – 998
  • Platinum: Level 999

Looks like Sony is gearing up for the moment everyone has been waiting for. The upcoming baby in the PlayStation family hits the stores on the 12th of November, right before the holiday season.

Disqus Comments Loading...