REVEALED: The 2019 Prize Money Payments of All F1 Teams


The prize money for the 10 F1 teams in 2019 have officially been revealed. As it turns out Scuderia Ferrari will be pocketing the lion’s share of the prize.

According to Liberty Media’s prize money projections for 2019 Ferrari is set to recover $205 million. Meanwhile, reigning champions, Mercedes will receive $177 million. The money is awarded based on team performance in the previous year’s championship.

The sport’s commercial rights holder also says that the prize pot is around $1,004 million. All of that will be split between the 10 teams. As a result, Haas’ prize money income has risen the most in comparison with any team. This is mostly because they finished a career best of fifth in the 2018 F1 championship. Interestingly, they prize money for 2019 is just $10 million more than bottom-placed team, Williams.

Sebastian Vettel
Ferrari will pocket most of the prize money

Normally, the teams’ winnings are divided into three parts. ‘Column one’ is a fixed share of revenue paid to any team which has finished in the top 10 of the championship in two of the past three seasons. ‘Column two’ is paid on a sliding scale based on a team’s finishing position in the previous championship.

Aside from that, five teams receive additional payments. This includes a ‘constructors’ championship bonus’ to four teams; three are privy to bonus payments ranging from $10 million to $35 million. A special Long-Standing Team payment is also made out to Ferrari alone. The LST payment usually means that Ferrari is the highest paid of any team since the current prize money structure was introduced in 2013.

According to a schedule, Racing Point will be awarded column one payment. All this is despite the team being inducted to the championship last year as a new entrant mid-season. As a result, teams like Haas claimed that Racing Point should not qualify for column one revenue. Their argument was that Racing Point has not fulfilled the requirement to finish in the top 10 twice in the previous three championships.

Sebastian Vettel