Rohit Sharma to Captain Virat Kohli & MS Dhoni among Others in the Wisden’s IPL Team of the Decade

December 27, 2019 2:16 pm

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma was named the captain of the IPL team of the decade picked by Wisden. Rohit has led his franchise to four IPL titles- more than any other team or captain. Apart from that, he is also the third highest run scorer in IPL, and it is difficult to keep such a guy out of the team of the decade.

The other opening slot apart from Rohit was given to “universe boss” Chris Gayle. Gayle has undoubtedly been one of the most destructive batsman. His 175 runs in an innings in the 2013 IPL still stands as one of the best innings in T20 cricket.

One of the IPL’s most consistent performers, Suresh Raina, finds also finds a place in the line up. Raina has played for Chennai Super Kings is hardly seen missing a match. He is the second highest run scorer in IPL.

Indian captain Virat Kohli might not have not have been successful leading his franchise in the IPL, but with the bat, he still hasn’t failed to keep making runs. Kohli is currently the highest run-scorer in IPL and is unsurprisingly a part of the Wisden’s IPL team of the decade.

Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers

Meanwhile, former Indian captain MS Dhoni- winner of three IPL titles- was the wicket-keeper in team and the extravagantly talented AB de Villiers filled the remaining batsman’s slot.

Among other Indians in the team were all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja and fast bowlers Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah.

Veteran fast bowler and IPL’s highest wicket-taker Lasith Malinga and much acclaimed mystery spinner Sunil Narine found their place in the Wisden’s IPL Team of the Decade.

Wisden’s IPL Team of the Decade:

Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma(c), Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Disqus Comments Loading...