Now Reading
Sachin Tendulkar will be Leading India Legends at Road Safety World Series

Sachin Tendulkar will be Leading India Legends at Road Safety World Series

It’s time to relive the old-age cricket excitement with Sachin Tendulkar entering the field again. An innovative approach has been taken to promote road safety globally and players like Brian Lara, Yuvraj Singh, and Zaheer Khan are a part of it. The name of this initiative is: Road Safety World Series and it commences on the 7th of March.

The tournament will be played by five nations: India, West Indies, South Africa, Australia, and Sri Lanka. 11 matches will be played at this league at the Wankhede Stadium, DY Stadium, MCA Stadium, CCI Ground, and the Brabourne Stadium. The finals will be played at the Brabourne Stadium on the 22nd of March.

Sachin Tendulkar becomes skipper

As per news, Sachin Tendulkar will be heading the Indian Legends. The legendary team consists of players such as Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Khan, Zaheer Khan, and Virender Sehwag. This tournament will truly be a nostalgic moment for the 90’s cricket fans. Additionally, Ajit Agarkar and Munaf Patel will also be a part of the team. Furthermore, Sanjay Bangar, the former Indian batting coach along with Sairaj Bahutule and Pragyan Ojha will be a part of Indian Legends as well. The wicket keeper of this team is Sameer Dighe. He has played 6 tests and 23 ODIs.

The other well-known names for this World Series include Ajantha Mendis, Jonty Rhodes, Tillakaratne Dilshan, and Muttiah Muralitharan.

The first match of the series will be between India Legends and West Indies Legends. Brian Lara will be heading the West Indies Legends through this tournament. This is a moment that everyone from the previous-generation cricket fans have wished to relive. On the other hand, this is the time for new-generation cricket fans to watch the legendary cricket players grace the field.

Ravi Gaekwad, the RTO Chief of Thane said, “I am extremely glad for the fans, and I am sure they will come in large numbers to cheer for the legends and also support this important cause of creating awareness towards road safety in the country”. Not only this, he also added that fans have been eagerly waiting for the schedule and tickets of this tournament to be released.

The schedule for the Road Safety World Series:


Teams  Date Venue


India Vs West Indies 7th March Wankhede
2 Australia Vs Sri Lanka 8th March



India Vs Sri Lanka 10th March DY Patil
4 West Indies Vs South Africa 11th March

DY Patil


South Africa Vs Sri Lanka 13th March

DY Patil


India Vs South Africa 14th March



Australia Vs West Indies 16th March



West Indies Vs Sri Lanka 17th March



Australia Vs South Africa 19th March

DY Patil


India Vs Australia 20th March


11 TBD (Finals) 22nd March


Commenting on this initiative, a senior member of the Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra and Chairman of the Trust, Shant Bharat Surakshit Bharat, said, “Road safety is a serious concern. One person dies every 4 minutes in India and we all should join hands to make our roads safe and save precious human lives,”.

WATCH: Virat Kohli Imitates Harbhajan Singh’s Action before the India vs Sri Lanka 2nd T20I

Scroll To Top