Shikhar Dhawan becomes third fastest Indian to 5000 T20 runs

May 15, 2017 9:45 am

Shikhar Dhawan yesterday became the third fastest Indian to reach the 5000 runs mark in the T20 format. He became the 31st player in the world and the 7th Indian to accomplish this feat. Only Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli have done it in fewer innings than Dhawan. Other Indians namely Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa and MS Dhoni have all taken more time on the pitch.

Dhawan achieved this milestone on his 181st innings against the Gujarat Lions which was the last league match for both the teams in this IPL. Before Dhawan, Kohli had reached this mark in 167 innings including 4 centuries and 46 fifties. Suresh Raina took 173 innings to complete his 5000 runs. He was also the first Indian to do so. He has spent most of his time playing for the Chennai Super Kings where he was known to be most destructive middle-order batsman. He is also the current highest run-getter in the T20 format for India with 6872 runs under his belt.

Dhawan was the latest edition to the Indian list of players who have achieved this feat. His 12th run against the Gujarat Lion marked his historic entry to the elite club. It is also a fact that among all the players who have crossed the 5000 mark he has the lowest strike rate. He has been a part of the Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils, and Mumbai Indians in the IPL before joining his current team of the Sunrisers Hyderabad. He is one of the few players who have been in IPL since its inception in 2008.

As one would have easily guessed the first batsman to reach this landmark was the Caribbean giant Chris Gayle. He still stands as the fastest man to get there. He took just 132 innings to get there and the world knows the heroics he has shown to reach the pedestal he enjoys today in the T20 format. He is also the only man alive with over 10000 T20 runs. His closest follower is Brendon McCullum who is still to reach 8000 runs. He plays for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL but has his presence felt in every T20 league of the world whether it be in India or Pakistan or West Indies or Australia. You name the country and he is there.

It is notable that Dhawan and Gambhir are the only current openers in this list who have not yet scored a single T20 century. They both are southpaw openers for their sides in the IPL and the stats resemblance between these two players is uncanny.

Disqus Comments Loading...