Now Reading
SL vs NZ 2019: Sri Lanka Leaves Out Thisara Perera for T20I Series

SL vs NZ 2019: Sri Lanka Leaves Out Thisara Perera for T20I Series

Sri Lanka announced the squad for the upcoming Twenty20 series where they took a drastic step while choosing the squad. The 15-member squad has as many as nine changes who featured in the series against South Africa earlier this year, have been left out. One of them is experienced, Thisara Perera. Lasith Malinga will lead the team while Niroshan Dickwella will be his deputy.

Danushka Gunathilaka has returned in the squad, although he last played an international match for Sri Lanka in January 2019. Kusal Perera, who was ruled out earlier due to a hamstring injury, has found a place along with Lahiru Kumara. On the other hand, Thisara Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva and Suranga Lakmal have been excluded from the T20I squad.

Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Kasun Rajitha, and Lahiru Madushanka have also been selected while Angelo Perera, Jeffrey Vandersay, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Priyamal Perera and Asitha Fernando failed to make it to the squad.

The three-match T20I series will begin from September 1, with all the matches to be played in Pallekele. The second game will take place on September 3 while the third one will be played on September 6. They are currently playing the Test against New Zealand and the series is important for them after giving a dismal show in the ICC World Cup.

Sri Lanka squad for the three-match T20I series:

Lasith Malinga (C), Niroshan Dickwella, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka

Scroll To Top