Now Reading
T20WC 2020: MS Dhoni Is Not a Part of Scott Styris’ T20 World Cup Squad

T20WC 2020: MS Dhoni Is Not a Part of Scott Styris’ T20 World Cup Squad

MS Dhoni

Former New Zealand all-rounder Scott Styris has not included wicket-keeper batsman MS Dhoni and pacer Mohammad Shami in India’s squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2020. Rohit Sharma, along with KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan are there in the squad as openers. The veteran opener has returned to the Indian team recently.

Although Dhawan has joined the team, he failed to do well in the second T20I against Sri Lanka. However, the third T20I went well as he scored 52 off 36. Captain Virat Kohli and pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah are there in the squad. He has selected Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant and Sanju Samson in the team. However, he dropped Manish Pandey, who finally got a chance to play in the third T20I. Both Pant and Samson can do the job behind the stumps in the absence of MS Dhoni.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni

However, instead of him, he has included the uncapped Shubman Gill. Gill has been a regular member of India A side and he can do justice to the spot as well. On the other hand, all-rounder Hardik Pandya can replace Shivam Dube in the squad. Styris has selected the regular spin duo – Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal along with Ravindra Jadeja. However, he did not pick Washington Sundar in his team.

For pace department, he has not picked Mohammad Shami in the squad and selected Navdeep Saini and Deepak Chahar along with key player Jasprit Bumrah. The injured Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shardul Thakur missed out from his squad.

The Indian team is currently playing a three-match T20I series. While the first game was washed out in Guwahati, India won the second one convincingly. The third T20I against Sri Lanka has been going on in Pune.

Scott Styris’ India squad for T20 World Cup 2020 doesn’t have MS Dhoni


Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya. Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Sanju Samson, Ravindra Jadeja, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Scroll To Top