Now Reading
Top 7: Facts and trivia about the Australian Open

Top 7: Facts and trivia about the Australian Open

The first Grand Slam of the year, the Australian Open is the most awaited tennis tournament, commencing in the second week of January every year. A site where numerous records have bitten the dust and yet others have been set, it has its fair share of interesting and fascinating facts.  Let’s take a look at a few of them.

1. History

The Australian Open was first held in 1905. It was known to as the Australasian Championship until 1927. The name changed to Australian Championships and finally Australian Open in 1969. It is the youngest of all the four Grand Slams, the oldest being Wimbledon (1877) followed by US Open (1881) and French Open (1891). It is also the first Grand Slam tournament to feature retractable roofs in three of its courts during extreme heat or wet weather.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Scroll To Top