Ion Cutelaba Gets a Chance to Settle Scores With Magomed Ankalaev Following the Controversial Stoppage

Published 03/06/2020, 6:15 AM EST


Ion Cutelaba was visibly upset after his fight with Magomed Ankalaev ended due to a questionable stoppage from the referee. The Moldovan was not happy with an unwarranted L on his resume. However, he will get a chance to redeem himself as the UFC is looking to book an immediate rematch for UFC 249 next month.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

The news was first reported by ESPN’s Brett Okamoto on Twitter. The UFC is yet to make an official statement. However, multiple sources have confirmed the news. Even Cutelaba posted the news on his Instagram.

Ion Cutelaba and Magmod Ankalaev had their first meeting at UFC Norfolk. Given both the fighters’ style of fighting, it was certain that there will be fireworks once the opening bell rings. The action, however, began even before the opening of the fight. While Bruce Buffer was introducing Cutelaba, he walked down the ring towards his opponent. The move was reminiscent of Junior dos Santos throwing down the gauntlet in front of his opponents.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Eventually, security had to step in to separate the two. The experience had to be a bit nerve-wracking for the referee Kevin MacDonald. Perhaps it was due to this that he went to deliver, arguably, the most controversial stoppage in UFC history.

The rope-a-dope strategy by Ion Cutelaba proved to be fatal for him

Both the fighters came flying out of the gates with the opening bell. Ankalaev controlled the distance with his leg kicks. Cutelaba still managed to sneak in a punch or two. Ion first began to wobble when the Russian landed a kick to his head, which was followed by many more. But none of them landed clean. Cutelaba seemed to be losing his balance. However, that never stopped him from hitting his opponent.

 

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

At only 33 seconds of the very first round, the referee stepped in to save Cutelaba. The fighter was furious at the stoppage. As soon as he calmed down he understood that nothing could be done about it. The commentators at ringside were sure that he was playing possum upon viewing the replay. Later his camp filed a petition with the Virginia State Athletic Commission to reverse the decision.

The stoppage drew a lot of reactions from fans and fighters alike. Some of them even dubbed it the worst call in the history of the organization. However, all of them had the privilege to look at multiple replays from different angles and come to a conclusion. Kevin MacDonald had to make a decision within a split second that would have consequences for the fighter’s safety. Even Cutelaba has acknowledged that his acting was so good that he managed to even fool the referee.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Now it seems that before the Commission makes a decision, the two will meet once again to settle their unfinished business. The hype between this meeting will be multiple times that of the first one. Who do you think comes out on top this time?

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

Rishabh Singh

655 articles

Rishabh Singh is an MMA author at EssentiallySports since 2020. An engineer in the making, his love for combat sports began by watching Anderson Silva light people up inside the Octagon. When he isn't busy in his technical pursuits, he is an avid reader with a love for sports in general and sporting history in particular.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT