Umpire did Not Diffuse Serena Williams Situation – Davenport

Published 09/09/2018, 6:52 PM EDT
Serena Williams


Serena Williams’ behaviour dominated the storyline over Osaka’s remarkable maiden Grand Slam win.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

But former world No 1 Lindsay Davenport believes the umpire for the match, Carlos Ramos, must shoulder some of the responsibility for acting too swiftly in dishing out the third penalty.

The 23-time Grand Slam champion was handed her first code violation when Ramos spotted Williams’ coach, Patrick Mouratoglou, making hand signals from the player’s box.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Her second violation, resulting in a point penalty, was dished out when she smashed her racket to the ground in anger.

But the most controversial part of the match came when Williams was involved in a furious exchange with the chair umpire, with Ramos choosing to hand the American a game penalty for verbal abuse.

The trophy ceremony for Osaka was drowned out by boos from the Flushing Meadows crowd as tensions failed to dissipate following the conclusion of the match.

And Davenport believes Ramos missed a crucial opportunity to warn Williams before handing out the third and final code violation.

Lindsay Davenport

“Carlos Ramos is a great umpire but he never tried to diffuse the situation with Serena,” Davenport said on the Tennis Channel.

“In that whole tirade he could have easily said, ‘Serena, a couple more words here and you’re going to get a game here’.

“A lot of times you can give soft warnings for coaching as well to kind of warn the player.

“There’s a lot of things he could have done along the way to maybe not get to the point where it was game [violation] and really change the whole narrative of this match.”

She added: “Also, how many times do coaches actually get warnings for coaching?

“You very rarely see it. We’ve never really seen it from Serena before.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

“Interesting in his [Mouratoglou] interview post-match. Mouratoglou said yes I was coaching, I’ll admit to it’.

“Then he got a little tacky when he accused all coaches… he kind of went off the rails a little bit but he definitely copped to it that it always happens.

“The chair umpires almost never call it so to call it in a Grand Slam final against a player that’s never really had it before… it just seemed odd.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Serena Williams gesticulates furiously at the umpire

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

Dhruv George

11311 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT