Furious Noah Lyles Takes a Dig at World Athletics After They Announce Single Award for 2023

Published 10/12/2023, 2:16 PM EDT

Follow Us

via Getty

Noah Lyles has established himself as a dominant force in the world of track and field. In the past few years, he has been a consistent performer on the global stage, earning accolades with every appearance on the track. Apart from being a phenomenal runner, this reigning triple world champion also never shies away from sharing unfiltered views on things that he thinks should be heard.

Whether expressing his opinions on the NBA or advocating for the track and field community, Lyles has consistently stood up for what he believes is right. Along similar lines, the Florida-based runner has expressed his disappointment at the World Athletics announcement of the awards for the track and field categories.

Noah Lyles clearly is not happy


Article continues below this ad

On Wednesday, Lyles took to his Twitter (now X) and penned down a note that read, “I feel like there should be more awards given than just athlete of the year. What about -Performance of the year -Athlete of the year for jumps, throws, distance and sprints -most improved athlete.”

This tweet came after the World Athletics announced the World Athletics Awards 2023. There is only one award announced, and that is the 2023 World Athletes of the Year and the nominees for this award have also been revealed.

However, the announcement has not gone well for the federation, as Noah Lyles expressed his dissatisfaction with only a single award being announced for track and field athletes. In a press release on Friday, World Athletics also disclosed the list of 11 athletes who are in line to win the award. Interestingly, Noah Lyles is also on this list and he will be competing against a starry list of his counterparts.


Article continues below this ad

The contenders for the 2023 World Athletes of the Year

Apart from Lyles, other entrants are the reigning Olympics and World Champion in Javelin Neeraj Chopra from India, Swedish Pole Vaulter Mondo Duplantis, American Shot Put prodigy and the current world champion Ryan Crouser, Jakob Ingebrigtsen of Norway, Soufiane El Bakkali of Morocco, Pierce LePage from Canada, Kelvin Kiptum from Kenya, Alvaro Martin from Spain, Karsten Warholm from Norway, and Miltiadis Tentoglou from Greece.


Article continues below this ad

These athletes were selected by an international panel, including representatives from all six continental areas of World Athletics. From this pool of athletes, a three-step voting procedure will be implemented to determine the finalists. The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics members will be taking part in the voting through email, while fans can cast their votes online through the World Athletics social media handles.

Watch this story: Noah Lyles Eyeing on Shattering Another Record of Usain Bolt After Breaking the Sprinting Legend’s Record in Seven Years


Written by:

Abhishek Rathore


One take at a time

Abhishek Rathore is a US sports writer for EssentiallySports. He is a passionate sports enthusiast and comes with a staunch experience in content writing. So, he blended his love and passion and started writing about all things sports.
Show More>

Edited by:

Stefan Thomas