WATCH: Reporter Confuses Alexander Zverev with Stefanos Tsitsipas - EssentiallySports
Categories: Tennis

WATCH: Reporter Confuses Alexander Zverev with Stefanos Tsitsipas

Defending champion Alexander Zverev was unwittingly called as Stefanos by a reporter at the ATP World Tour Finals 2019 following his second round-robin defeat against Stefanos Tsitsipas on Wednesday.

Alexander Zverev was derailed by debutant Stefanos Tsitsipas in straight sets 6-3, 6-2 to register his second win at the ATP World Tour Finals 2019 and reach his maiden semifinals at the year-end event, joining Dominic Thiem.

During his post-match press conference, a reporter started to ask a question to Alexander Zverev after calling him Stefanos by mistake. However, the German caught the journalist’s mistake as he asked, “Did you just called me Stefanos?” The reporter replied, “sorry, sorry” as Zverev passed on a very funny reaction in response.

The clash between Zverev and Tsitsipas was the youngest in terms of combined age at the ATP World Tour Finals since Andy Murray faced Juan Martin del Potro in 2009 ATP Finals.

The Greek gun broke in the eighth gun of the opening set when the 22-year-old went for a risky serve and volley on a second serve and failed to make a low volley. Stefanos Tsitsipas then stepped up from that point it was one-way traffic on the Tsitsipas’ side. On the other hand, Zverev’s level dropped significantly in the second set as Tsitsipas wrapped the match with an ace.

See Also

Earlier, Alexander Zverev had defeated the No.1 seed Rafael Nadal in straight sets 6-2, 6-4 in their first round-robin match of the Andre Agassi group on Monday.

In the course of his title defense, Alexander Zverev will face another debutant, Daniil Medvedev in his third and final round-robin match at the ATP World Tour Finals 2019 on Friday. It will be a must-win match for the World No.7 in order to qualify for the semifinals of the 2019 Nitto ATP Finals.

Varun Khanna

Recent Posts

Amanda Anisimova Breaks Down in Tears as Reporter Asks Question on Demised Father

Rising tennis sensation Amanda Anisimova burst into tears and left her post-match press conference following her defeat at the Australian…

1 hour ago

When an F1 Driver was So Bad, His Licence to Drive Was Revoked

In 2006, F1 bid goodbye to the Jordan and Minardi teams. It wasn't long before newcomers, Spyker and Super Aguri…

2 hours ago

NZ vs IND 2020: Shoulder Injury Rules Shikhar Dhawan out of T20I Squad

A shoulder injury has ruled Shikhar Dhawan out of the five-match T20I series against New Zealand. He sustained the injury while…

2 hours ago

Sachin Tendulkar and Courtney Walsh to Coach the Teams for Bushfire Cricket Bash

Batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar and West Indies fast-bowling great Courtney Walsh will coach the Ponting XI and Warne XI in…

3 hours ago