Southern Vipers Team

Women’s Cricket Super League as known as Kia Super League are all set to begin from August 6 in different venues of England. Operated by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), Women’s Cricket Kia Super League features six teams, named Lancashire Thunder, Southern Vipers, Loughborough Lightning, Western Storm, Yorkshire Diamonds and Surrey Stars.

Although Women’s Cricket Kia Super League will be played its final season this year as England’s new 100-ball format wouldn’t allow any domestic Twenty20 games in its previous format. The tournament certainly helps to create the bridge between the domestic and the international circuit.

Winner of 2016: Southern Vipers

Southern Vipers are one of the balanced team in the Kia Super League 2019. They reached the final in two successive years- 2016 and 2017. While they won in the inaugural season, they lost to Western Storm in the following year.

However, 2019 didn’t go well with them as they finished as the sixth team in the points table with 10 points, 2 wins from 10 games. Although the team has experienced players like Tammy Beaumont, Danielle Wyatt, Tash Farrant, Suzie Bates, Stafanie Taylor etc. Amanda-Jade Wellington, the Australian leg-spinner will play the key role who replaced injured Sophie Molineux in the squad.

Southern Vipers Captain Tammy Beaumont. ©Michael Berkeley

It will be interesting to see whether they will be able to keep their dominance like the first two years or the history of the last year will repeat again.


Tammy Beaumont (C), Danielle Wyatt, Tash Farrant, Suzie Bates, Stafanie Taylor, Amanda Wellington, Fi Morris, Lauren Bell, Carla Rudd, Charlie Dean, Maia Bouchier, Thea Brookes, Paige Scholfield, Marie Kelly, Issy Wong.


August 6: Southern Vipers vs Lancashire Thunder at Aigburth

August 8: Southern Vipers vs Loughborough Lightning, Haslegrave Ground

August 11: Southern Vipers vs Western Storm at The Rose Bowl

August 12: Southern Vipers vs Surrey Stars at The Oval

August 15: Southern Vipers vs Lancashire Thunder in Hove

August 18: Southern Vipers vs Surrey Stars at Arundel Castle

August 20: Southern Vipers vs Western Storm in Bristol

August 21: Southern Vipers vs Yorkshire Diamonds at The Rose Bowl

August 25: Southern Vipers vs Yorkshire Diamonds at York Cricket Club

August 28: Southern Vipers vs Loughborough Lightning at The Rose Bowl