Western Storm Team ©Harry Trump/Getty Images

As the Women’s Ashes have completed, England players are ready to take part in the Women’s Cricket Super League which is also known as Kia Super League. Not only England but the players across the globe take part in it. The league which is operated by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB), is one of the tournaments that help to bridge the gap between the domestic and the international cricket.

The Women’s Cricket Kia Super League features six franchise teams, namely Lancashire Thunder, Southern Vipers, Loughborough Lightning, Western Storm, Yorkshire Diamonds and Surrey Stars. This will begin from August 6 in the different venues of England.

Winner of 2017: Western Storm ©Mike Hewitt/Getty Images

Western Storm is one of the most consistent teams in the Kia Super League 2019. They had reached the final of the tournament twice in 2016 and 2017 whereas reached the semi-final in the last year. Although Southern Vipers won by 7 wickets against Western Storm in the inaugural season, they won by as many wickets against Southern Vipers in 2017. They tried their best in the last year also but failed short of 9 runs in the semi-final against Surrey Stars.

They placed second in the points table last year with 30 points, six wins out of ten matches. England captain Heather Knight leads the team whereas they have the star player, Smriti Mandhana. The ICC no. 1 batter and one of the most prolific players of India. She was the leading run-getter in the last season with 421 runs from 9 innings with a strike rate of 174.69 and an average of 60.14.

Key player of Western Storm: Smriti Mandhana

Apart from her, another India player Deepti Sharma is going to make her debut for the side. Alongside them, there are Anya Shrubsole, Heather Knight, Rachel Priest, Fran Wilson, Freya Davies etc. who are able to turn the table anytime.


Heather Knight (C), Anya Shrubsole, Fran Wilson, Freya Davies, Smriti Mandhana, Rachel Priest, Deepti Sharma, Sonia Odedra, Dani Gibson, Ellie Mitchell, Alex Griffiths, Claire Nicholas, Sophie Luff, Naomi Dattani, Amara Carr.


August 6: Western Storm vs Loughborough Lightning at Haslegrave Ground

August 10: Western Storm vs Lancashire Thunder at The Cooper Associates County Ground

August 11: Western Storm vs Southern Vipers at The Rose Bowl

August 13: Western Storm vs Loughborough Lightning at Bristol County Ground

August 15: Western Storm vs Yorkshire Diamonds in York

August 18: Western Storm vs Lancashire Thunder at Chester Boughton Hall CC

August 20: Western Storm vs Southern Vipers at Bristol County Ground

August 21: Western Storm vs Surrey Stars at The Cooper Associates County Ground

August 25: Western Storm vs Surrey Stars at Woodbridge Road

August 28: Western Storm vs Yorkshire Diamonds at The Cooper Associates County Ground