Now Reading
5 Most Disappointing IPL finals

5 Most Disappointing IPL finals

The 10th edition of the IPL came to a grand end with the Mumbai Indians coming on top of the Rising Pune Supergiants with a margin of mere one run. Nobody in both the camps could have imagined this result when the Pune batting choked in the pressure of the final. The master class of Dhoni did not come to reality in Hyderabad where the Pune fans needed him the most. The last match for the Rising Pune Supergiants is not something they would like to be registered in the record books.

The IPL over its ten seasons has witnessed many thrilling finales. The final of 2014 IPL saw a total of 199 being chased by the KKR team with just 3 balls to spare. The RCB team came close in 2016 while chasing 208 by the Sunrisers. Among these exciting contests, IPL also witnessed some disappointing performances in the finals. Some teams choking at the most crucial moment to give away the match.

We have a look at the 5 most disappointing IPL finals to date which failed to meet our expectations of a nerve-wrecking match:

  1. Chennai Super Kings vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, 2011

This was the third appearance of the Chennai team in the finals of the IPL. They had won the title the previous year against the Mumbai Indians. This match was expected to be high scoring as the batsmen from both the dugouts were in good touch coming into the match. This was proved right when Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey from CSK put up a 159 run stand for the first wicket in under 15 overs. Vijay went on to score 95 which was the highest individual score in a final till then. But none of the other batsmen impressed much and CSK finished at 205 in their 20 overs.

The crowd was expecting an enthralling chase from the in-form RCB side. But that, unfortunately, could not be realized. It was the first season for Gayle in the RCB line-up. He had already hit 2 centuries in the tournament and was at 608 runs from 11 innings. To the utter disappointment of the RCB fans, he was dismissed for a duck in the final match which saw their hopes of winning dwindle in the first over itself. Ashwin took Gayle’s wicket thrice that season and was the only effective bowler against the giant.

With 6 wickets down after the 10th over at a score of just 70, the RCB fans had already given up on the match and CSK emerged as the one-sided conquerors of the IPL for the second consecutive time.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Scroll To Top