When and Where to Watch Nadal, Djokovic, Barty, Osaka and Others’ Australian Open 2022 Draw

Published 01/12/2022, 9:46 AM EST
Tennis – Australian Open – Men’s Singles Final – Melbourne Park, Melbourne, Australia, Serbia’s Novak Djokovic celebrates with the trophy after winning his final match against Russia’s Daniil Medvedev REUTERS/Loren Elliott


Amidst all the drama regarding Novak Djokovic’s visa cancellation case, the Australian Open will start on 17th January, as scheduled. Currently, both men and women are playing singles matches in the qualifiers of the Australian Open. According to the report, the Australian Open 2022 Draw will begin on Thursday. The qualifying rounds will conclude on Friday, but it will not affect the draw. The qualifiers will keep an eye on the draw for their possible match-ups in the first round of the Grand Slam. 

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Australian Open 2022 Draw: time and schedule

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

The controversies surrounding this year’s Australian Open have created a greater interest among tennis fans around the World. As a result, many fans are looking forward to the draw and they will get to know the result on Thursday at 3 pm local time in Melbourne.

The ceremony will take place at the Margaret Court Arena at 3 pm local time and people in the USA can watch it at 11 pm ET / 10 pm CT / 9 pm MT / 8 pm PT. Fans of the sport can watch the draw live on the Australian Open website and their Facebook page.

However, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles draw will take place during the first week of the Grand Slam. You can get all the updates regarding the draw on the official website of the Australian Open. 

Players to watch out in the Australian Open

The World no.1, Novak Djokovic is all set to enter the draw as the number one seed after the whole fiasco about his visa cancellation. If his visa had stayed canceled, Daniil Medvedev would have become the number one seed instead. 

The World no.2, Daniil Medvedev is one of the favorites to win the whole tournament. Previously, he beat Novak in the final of the US Open to win his first Grand Slam and he will definitely want to add more to his tally.

Tennis – WTA 250 – Melbourne Summer Set – Melbourne Park, Melbourne, Australia – January 4, 2022 Japan’s Naomi Osaka reacts during her round of 32 match against France’s Alize Cornet REUTERS/Loren Elliott

Watch The Story: Djokovic’s biggest controversies

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Meanwhile, Rafael Nadal, the number six seed, will look to stop the Serb from winning his 21st Grand Slam title. The Spaniard started the year 2022 pretty well, as he recently won a title in Melbourne. 

On the Women’s side, Australia’s hope depends on Ash Barty as she is the number one seed and recently won a title in Adelaide. Apart from Barty, all eyes will be on Emma Raducanu to win it all again after her triumph in the US Open last year. However, women’s tennis is really unpredictable; anybody can win on their day, but Barty will be the clear favorite going into the main draw.

Who do you think will win Australian Open? Let us know in the comments.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

DIVE DEEPER

‘She Had Done Nothing Wrong,’ -WTA Releases Statement on Renata Voracova’s Deportation From Australia.

10 days ago

 

Enjoyed reading this article? Download our exclusive app to get 24x7 coverage, latest memes and social media banter. Click here to download.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Debkinkar Maity

59 articles

Debkinkar Maity is a Tennis Author at EssentiallySports. His desire to become a sports journalist inspired him to take up a degree in journalism and mass communication, and he hasn't looked back ever since. Following the sport for over a decade now, Debkinkar has an ardent love for Roger Federer.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT