Share this article

BMC’s Rohan Dennis takes Stage One of the Tour

Published 07/04/2015, 1:27 PM EDT

Follow Us

Rohan Dennis (Aus) shattered the Individual Stage average speed record with a blistering pace of 55.446km/hr. This allowed the 25 year old rider from BMC to be the only one to complete the 13.8km time trial in under 15 minutes with a 14’56” ride. Despite valiant efforts, favourites Tony Martin and Fabian Cancellara were unable to beat the Aussie who will be the first wearer of the Maillot jaune in the 2015 Tour De France. Martin and Cancellara are second and third overall finishing 5 and 6 seconds behind.

America’s Favorite Video Today

Dennis stated, “It was my goal to do well. It was pretty smooth. It was very long on the way home. I kept thinking 16 minutes, because that was my time at training. In the end, I got one minute bonus. Let’s wait and see now. It looks like it’s going to be a long time on the hot seat.” As he watched other cyclists from the hot-seat after his run. When Cancellara’s time crossed the 15 minute mark, he knew he’d won the stage.

No one today seemed capable of matching Dennis, especially in the second half of the course where the favourites for the day lost ground. Tony Martin was disappointed and partly felt the weather was to be blamed, saying after his trial ended “I’m very very disappointed. I couldn’t handle the heat, especially in the second half where I felt weaker”.

via Imago

None of the general classification favourites were near the best time of the day but that will not faze them as they jostled to position themselves near their rivals. Defending Champion Niabli finished 22 overall with a solid run, the best of the big 4. He holds a 7, 15 and 28 second lead over Chris Froome, Alberto Contador and Nairo Quintana respectively and will be pleased with his performance. However, 2 strong general classification contenders (although, being outside favourites) are classified ahead of Niabli. They are Thibaut Pinot and Tejay van Garderen. The reigning champion will want to keep an eye out for any moves that they might make. Other notable cyclists that finished behind Dennis were Alejandro Valverde,56 seconds behind, Rigoberto Urán 40 seconds behind (the best placed, All-round cyclist) and last year’s runner up, Jean-Christophe Péraud was off the pace by 58 seconds.

Providing feedback will help us make your experience better.

The Fan's Perspective

Enjoyed Your Read? Let us know how likely you are to recommend EssentiallySports to your friends!

Least Likely

Most Likely

Dennis is now the eighth Australian cyclist to wear the Yellow Jersey. He will enjoy his day tomorrow with the Yellow Jersey as the first mass stage of the 2015 Tour begins.




372 articles

Sports is such an amazing passion. A content writer of NBA