“Pure Disgraceful”: Fans Express Disgust After Referee Makes Abrupt Decision Resulting in Young Prospect Losing the Fight

Published 05/30/2023, 3:25 PM EDT

Follow Us

An act of injustice bewilders anyone. But it beats any sense when it happens in front of one’s eyes. This happened when boxing lovers came across a video shared by ‘boxingkingdom’ yesterday. Nearly half a minute long, the clip starts with two boxers lunging at each other. Then, as the left hook of the boxer in blue missed, the two got into a clinch. The referee immediately stepped in to separate.

America’s Favorite Video Today

It puzzles everyone. Despite suffering harm during the melee, the boxer in red starts receiving the standing eight count! And then, when it is apparent that he is ready to continue with the fight, the referee waves off the match to the former’s utter shock. @BoxingKingdom14, which shared the tweet, messaged, “This ref would get promoted in Las Vegas!” Since the time it came, nearly 400k have viewed the post.

Boxing fans ask – Does the referee knows what he is doing?

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Finding the whole affair deplorable, the following user said as a coach, he would have knocked out the referee for officiating so poorly.

Left wonderstruck by the referee’s decision, user Andy Lane sympathizes with the boxer who lost the match. However, Lane says that after spending countless hours in the gym, all the guy gets is losing a fight by early stoppage. Not sure how’s he going to explain the unbelievable circumstances to anyone.

Trending

Get instantly notified of the hottest Boxing stories via Google! Click on Follow Us and Tap the Blue Star.

Follow Us

According to the following user, the left hook of the boxer in the blue jersey barely touched the fighter in red. And the standing eight count baffles beyond reasoning. The boxer was ready and eager to continue. The user strongly believes that the referee must have been on the take to have rewarded the one party in a manner so unjust.

The following user also highlighted that the boxer in the red jersey was not in a daze, able to stand normally, and walked back to his corner without any problem.

User Christian Blanco finds it hard to believe. Yet, despite the injustices heaped on them, the boxer and his corner retained their composure.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

However, prudence calls for hearing both sides of the story. Hence a clarification from the referee on the reasons for taking such a call should be welcome. Otherwise, the sport has many boxers who lost out on medals during their amateur days.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

What’s your take on the reactions? Do you think the referee was correct in waving off the match? Do share your thoughts and views with us in the comments below.

Watch This Story: Is Claressa Shields still fighting after her opponent tested positive for a banned substance?

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Written by:

Jaideep R Unnithan

1,370Articles

One take at a time

Jaideep Unnithan is a Boxing writer at EssentiallySports. With over 400 articles authored at ES, Jaideep has built a reputation for diving deep into stories and producing detailed reports. Jaideep's passion for the sport of boxing was ignited when his father shared his experience of watching Ali vs Frazier live in the US.
Show More>

Edited by:

Arijit Saha

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

EDITORS' PICK

America’s Favorite Video Today