Tyson Fury vs. Deontay Wilder 3 Undercard: Is It Stacked?

Published 10/01/2021, 5:28 PM EDT
LOS ANGELES, CA – OCTOBER 03: Professional boxers Deontay Wilder (L) and Tyson Fury butt heads onstage during their press conference to promote their upcoming December 1, 2018 fight in Los Angeles at The Novo by Microsoft on October 3, 2018 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Victor Decolongon/Getty Images)


In less than ten days, Tyson Fury and Deontay Wilder will head into battle for the third time. Initially scheduled for July 24, this fight was later pushed to October 9 as the current WBC champion reportedly tested positive for COVID 19. However, now both fighters are all set to go head-to-head on October 9, 2021.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

While the first fight ended in a draw, Tyson Fury one-upped his game in the second and won by round 7 TKO. With multiple ups and downs in the formation of this trilogy fight, fans are now on the edge of their seats.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Leading up to this third fight, new training clips show significant adjustments to Deontay Wilder‘s overall game plan. Fans picked up on new moves like an increased emphasis on body shots and improved footwork.

If ‘The Bronze Bomber’ can apply these changes on October 9, Tyson Fury could be in for a tough night.

Tyson Fury vs Deontay Wilder 3: Fight Cards

Other than the main event, there are other exciting undercard match-ups. Here’s a detailed breakdown of all fights on the undercard of Tyson Fury vs Deontay Wilder 3-

Wilder vs Fury 3: Main Card

  • Tyson Fury vs. Deontay Wilder, 12 rounds, heavyweight
  • Efe Ajagba vs. Frank Sanchez, 10 rounds, heavyweight
  • Robert Helenius vs. Adam Kownacki, 12 rounds, heavyweight
  • Jared Anderson vs. Vladimir Tereshkin, 8 rounds, heavyweight

Apart from the Wilder-Fury trilogy fight, the main card consists of three other extremely competitive heavyweight fights.

Efe Ajagba (15-0-0) and Frank Sanchez (18-0-0) are both undefeated and will compete for the WBO NABA heavyweight title.

In 2020, Robert Helenius (30-3-0) defeated a previously undefeated Adam Kownacki (20-1-0). The Polish fighter is now running it back with Helenius to re-enter the win column.

Jared Anderson is the new big name in the heavyweight division. Since his pro-boxing start in 2019, he has bagged 9 wins and all by knockout. On October 9, he takes on another undefeated heavyweight, Vladimir Tereshkin (22-0-1).

These heavyweight fights will promise heavy action and definitely cannot be missed out on. Tune in at 9 pm ET / 6 pm PT / 2 am BST / 11 pm AEST.

Wilder vs Fury 3: Undercard

The undercard fights kick off at 7 pm ET / 4 pm PT / 12 am BST / 9 am AEST.

  • Edgar Berlanga vs. Marcelo Esteban Coceres, 10 rounds, super middleweight
  • Julian Williams vs. Vladimir Hernandez, 10 rounds, junior middleweight

On the undercard of the Wilder-Fury 3 main event, undefeated super-middleweight, Edgar Berlanga (17-0-0), will take on Marcelo Esteban Coceres (30-2-1). Coceres is traditionally a middleweight and will be moving up to SMW. A vacant WBO NABO Super Middle Title will be up for grabs in this bout.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Former unified super-welterweight champion Julian Williams (27-2-1) will take on Vladimir Hernandez (12-4-0). With a win over Hernandez, Julian Williams could possibly secure another shot at Jeison Rosario, who robbed him of his titles in 2020.

Wilder vs Fury 3: Preliminary Card

The prelim bouts begin at 4:30 pm ET / 1:30 pm PT / 9:30 pm BST / 6:30 am AEST.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

  • Robeisy Ramirez vs. Orlando Gonzalez, 10 rounds, featherweight
  • Viktor Faust vs. Mike Marshall, 8 rounds, heavyweight
  • Bruce Carrington vs. TBA, 4 rounds, featherweight
  • Elvis Rodriguez vs. Victor Vazquez, 8 rounds, junior welterweight

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Sanjit Misra

329 articles

Sanjit Misra is a boxing author at EssentiallySports. Sanjit fused this passion for writing with his love for jabs, hooks, weaves, and uppercuts and entered the realm of boxing journalism. The elegance, the science, the techniques, and the finesse of hand-to-hand combat was what initially drew him into the world of boxing.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT