Tyson Fury’s Losses in All of Boxing

Published 09/14/2021, 2:30 PM EDT
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – SEPTEMBER 14: Tyson Fury during his heavyweight bout against Otto Wallin at T-Mobile Arena on September 14, 2019 in Las Vegas, Nevada. Tyson won by an unanimous decision after the 12-round bout. (Photo by David Becker/Getty Images)

Tyson Fury, the current WBC and The Ring magazine titleholder, will look to become the unified heavyweight champion of the world again. Back in 2015, Fury beat Wladimir Klitschko. He became the undisputed heavyweight champion of the world. But it’s not like Tyson Fury has never lost a fight.


Article continues below this ad

Let’s take a look at the career that made ‘The Gypsy King’ the world-renowned boxer that he is today.

Tyson Fury amateur career


Article continues below this ad

Fury had an impressive amateur career boasting a record of 32-4. A gifted amateur heavyweight, Fury represented both Ireland and England while competing in international tournaments.

Fury won bronze at the 2006 AIBA Youth Boxing World Championships for Ireland and won gold at the 2007 EU Junior Championship while representing England.

Amateur Career losses 

Tyson Fury lost four times as an amateur boxer. His most notable loss came against his fellow Brit David Price during the 2006 English Amateur Senior National Championships. This loss convinced Fury to turn pro later that year after Price went on to represent Great Britain at the 2008 Olympic games at Fury’s expense.

His other losses include –

1. Lost to Sardor Abdullayev (Uzbekistan)

2. Lost to Ivan Bezverkhiy (Ukraine)

3. Lost to Maxim Babanin (Russia)


“It’s Time for Retaliation Baby” – Deontay Wilder Expresses His Hunger for Tyson Fury Trilogy

11 days ago

Tyson Fury Profesional Career Record

Tyson fury has remained unbeaten in his professional career. The draw against Deontay ‘The Bronze Bomber’ Wilder remains the only blemish in his otherwise perfect record. In 31 professional fights, Fury has not lost even once.

DUESSELDORF, GERMANY – NOVEMBER 28: Britain’s Tyson Fury (L) and Ukraine’s Wladimir Klitschko (R) in action during their IBF/IBO/WBA/WBO World Heavyweight Championship title fight at the Esprit Arena in Duesseldorf, Germany, on November 28, 2015. Tyson Fury has won world heavyweight boxing title after unanimous decision over Wladimir Klitschko on Saturday in Duesseldorf. (Photo by Marianne Mueller/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images)

Early on in his career, The Gypsy King beat heavyweight legend Dereck Chisora and Chris hammer. However, his most noteworthy performance was back in 2015. Tyson Fury ended the decade-long dominance of Wladimir Klitschko to become the unified heavyweight champion of the world.


Article continues below this ad

After becoming champion, demons of his past came back to haunt Fury as he gained weight and battled a drug and alcohol addiction. He made a comeback to the ring and fought the WBC and Ring titleholder, Deontay Wilder. The first match ended in a controversial draw.

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – FEBRUARY 22: Tyson Fury knocks down Deontay Wilder in the fifth round during their Heavyweight bout for Wilder’s WBC and Fury’s lineal heavyweight title on February 22, 2020 at MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Al Bello/Getty Images)

However, Fury came back stronger and completely dominated Deontay Wilder in their second fight. He knocked him down twice until finally in the seventh round Wilder’s corner threw the towel in declaring Fury the WBC champion of the world.


Article continues below this ad

The two heavyweights will go against each other in a trilogy fight for all the bragging rights and two belts. The winner of the fight will also see themselves eligible to challenge for the rest of the belts in the heavyweight division which lie around the waist of Anthony ‘AJ’ Joshua.



Allan Binoy

234 articles

Allan Binoy is a Combat Sports Author at EssentiallySports. He is currently pursuing a bachelor's degree in English Literature. Allan is a semi-professional football player for Diego Juniors FC.