Share this article

Brazil, Argentina and Mexico join U.S. as top Copa seeds

Published 12/18/2015, 2:03 AM EST

Follow Us

(Reuters) – Brazil, Argentina, Mexico and the United States are the top four seeds for next year’s Copa America, tournament organisers announced on Thursday.

America’s Favorite Video Today

The 2016 event, to be held in the U.S. for the first time, will be staged in 10 cities from June 3-26.

Sixteen nations will contest the event — 10 from South America and six from the CONCACAF region (North and Central America and the Caribbean).

The Copa America is the premier South American soccer championship. In recent times it has been played every four years by 10 teams from that continent but two invitees.

It has been expanded to include North American nations for the first time in celebration of its 100-year anniversary, and will be held one year after the last Copa won by hosts Chile.

(Reporting by Andrew Both in Cary, North Carolina; Editing by Ken Ferris)

Providing feedback will help us make your experience better.

The Fan's Perspective

Enjoyed Your Read? Let us know how likely you are to recommend EssentiallySports to your friends!

Least Likely

Most Likely



Written by:

Dhruv George


One take at a time

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.
Show More>