“Could Have Ended up Very, Very Bad”: Denis Shapovalov Reflects on Novak Djokovic’s US Open 2020 Disqualification

Published 09/08/2020, 6:04 AM EDT


Many current and former players voiced their opinions, moments after Novak Djokovic’s disqualification from the US Open 2020. This includes the likes of Alexander Zverev, Billie Jean King, and John McEnroe. One such opinion – that of Canadian youngster Denis Shapovalov – came from a player who has been through a similar situation as that of Novak Djokovic.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Shapovalov showed sympathy towards Novak Djokovic after the incident, drawing from his own experience. Like Zverev, Shapovalov also highlighted how unfortunate Djokovic was that the ball hit the lineswoman, while it could have landed anywhere.

Shapovalov knows how Novak Djokovic must be feeling

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Shapovalov agreed when asked if he would reach out to Djokovic and share his experience. “Yeah, of course. First of all, it’s just super unfortunate for everybody. I mean, I’ve been in that situation so I know exactly how Novak is feeling,” Shapovalov said after reaching the US Open 2020 quarter-finals.

“Of course, he had no intentions to go after the lineswoman. Thankfully she’s okay. It could have ended up very, very bad. Luckily everybody is okay. Like I said, it’s just super unfortunate for everybody,” Shapovalov added.

The 20-year-old said that it is important for Djokovic to ‘grow and learn’ from the incident. He couldn’t help but further stress that it was a stroke of very bad luck for the world number one.

“Hopefully Novak can shake it off and move on. I mean, of course, he needs to grow and learn from this. But it’s super, super unlucky as well. The ball could have went anywhere. It’s just super unfortunate,” Shapovalov insisted.

Similar incidents in the past

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Shapovalov was involved in a similar incident back in 2017. He was playing for Canada in a Davis Cup match against Great Britain’s Kyle Edmund. Shapovalov was down by two sets and was broken in the third set. He then angrily smacked the ball and caught French umpire Arnaud Gabas in the eye. A disqualification followed for Shapovalov.

Tim Henman also followed a similar fate during the 1995 Wimbledon Championships. He accidentally injured a ball girl back then.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Meanwhile, Djokovic lost to Pablo Carreno Busta as a result of his disqualification on Sunday. On the other hand, Shapovalov reached the quarter-finals with a win over David Goffin.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

Aayush Majumdar

1006 articles

Aayush Majumdar is a NASCAR content strategist, a Tennis Writer, and a sports analyst at EssentiallySports. He is well-tenured as a tennis and NASCAR writer, with over 900 articles across both sports. After pursuing a Post Graduate program in Sports Management, Aayush explored various roles in Sports Media, including a Sports Reporting role at a leading English daily.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT