NZ vs AUS: Australian Announces Squad Name for ODI series

February 26, 2020 2:45 pm

Australia has announced its squad for the NZ vs AUS ODI series.

Jhye Richardson not part of the squad

The players selected for the ODI will be playing New Zealand next month. However, the selection committee did not include Australian Pacer, Jhye Richardson, in the squad. Richardson was a part of the squad playing against South Africa. Except for Richardson, the other 14 players of the South Africa tour are part of the NZ vs AUS squad.

The 23-year-old bowler was one of the five Australian fast bowlers selected for the T20 squad against South Africa. The T20 series between South Africa and Australia is tied at the moment. The deciding game will be taking place on Wednesday (26th February) at 9:30pm IST.

The Selection Chief, Trevor Hohns, said, “Jhye is performing exceptionally well, as we saw throughout the Big Bash. He has slotted back into the T20 squad in South Africa and is pushing for a place in that side.”

NZ vs AUS: Australian squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (vc), Pat Cummins (vc), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Hazlewood, Kane Richardson, Mitch Marsh, D’Arcy Short, Mitchell Starc, Steve Smith, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa, David Warner.

Richardson’s dreams of playing the World Cup was brought to a halt because of an injury he suffered. This injury was right before the 50 over innings against England. Following this injury, he was sitting on the sidelines for months. Due to this he had to make his comeback at a domestic level after he recovered from the injury. He even shared his fears about how he feels returning to his trademark position will be difficult.

“When you’re going through rehab, you have moments when you’re never really sure if you’re going to get back to where you were”. He added that it is incredibly frustrating to not know if the position he played in once will be intact or not.

Disqus Comments Loading...