Now Reading
Full List of FIFA Best Award Winners as Lionel Messi Pips Cristiano Ronaldo

Full List of FIFA Best Award Winners as Lionel Messi Pips Cristiano Ronaldo

Lionel Messi, once again manages to get his nose ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo as he pips the Portugal to win the FIFA best men’s player award. Among the finalists for the award was Virgil van Dijk, who had won the UEFA Player of the Year award, a few weeks ago.

“The people who vote made a decision and you have to accept it. As players you can’t compare me and Messi because it’s totally different. I’m very proud to be here,” Van Dijk said after he was beaten to the award by Messi.

Winning it for the sixth time, Messi surpassed Cristiano Ronaldo who was tied with the Argentine with five awards.

Watch Messi’s reaction after being named the best men’s player:

On the other hand, the award in the woman’s category was claimed by the American international Megan Rapinoe, who beat her international teammate Alex Morgan and English international Lucy Bronze. After winning the award, she jokingly claimed Virgil van Dijk should have won the men’s award for “just how cute he is.”


Among the other awards, Jurgen Klopp won the men’s coach of the year award while Jill Ellis was the winner of the best women’s coach award.

The Puskas award, which awards the best goal of the year, was taken by 18-year old Romanian born Hungarian forward Daniel Zsori.

List of all the winners at FIFA’s The Best Awards ceremony:

Best men’s player:┬áLionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)

Best women’s player:┬áMegan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Best men’s goalkeeper:┬áAlisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool)

Best women’s goalkeeper:┬áSari van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid)

Men’s World 11 team of year:

Alisson Becker (BRA/Liverpool); Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid), Virgil Van Dijk (NED/Liverpool), Matthijs De Ligt (NED/Juventus), Marcelo (BRA/Real Madrid); Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid), Frenkie De Jong (NED/Barcelona), Eden Hazard (BEL/Real Madrid); Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus)

Women’s World 11 team of year:

Sari Van Veenendaal (NED/Atletico Madrid); Lucy Bronze (ENG/Lyon), Wendie Renard (FRA/Lyon), Nilla Fischer (SWE/Linkopings), Kelly O’Hara (USA/Utah Royals); Amandine Henry (FRA/Lyon), Julie Ertz (USA/Chicago), Rose Lavelle (USA/Washington); Marta (BRA/Orlando), Alex Morgan (USA/Orlando), Megan Rapinoe (USA/Reign FC)

Men’s coach:┬áJurgen Klopp (Liverpool)

Women’s coach:┬áJill Ellis (USA)

Puskas Award best goal: Daniel Zsori (HUN/Debrecen)

Fair-play award: Marcelo Bielsa and Leeds United

Scroll To Top