LIV Golf Updates: Joaquin Niemann Gets Hit With 2-Stroke Penalty; Jon Rahm Will Have a Chance to Win

Published 02/04/2024, 11:15 AM EST

Follow Us

via Reuters

Golf fans could not have asked for a more dramatic start to the LIV golf season! At first, the event was under threat of delay due to reports of food poisoning, but the event is going on smoothly. Surprisingly, it is also turning out to be a dream debut for one of LIV Golf’s latest additions, Jon Rahm.

America’s Favorite Video Today

The Spaniard had the lowest score for a debutant, with a score of 66. However, his start was overshadowed by Joaquin Niemann, who carded a record 59. But after round two of the event, the rules committee served Niemann with a two-stroke penalty at Mayakoba.

They became aware of a potential violation from the LIV golfer as he dropped from the cart path on the par-5 13th hole. It was determined he played the ball from the wrong place!

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by LIV Golf (@livgolf_league)

But this fault from Niemann has given Rahm a fighting chance for the top spot. And the Spanish golfer will be making sure to capitalize on this chance!

Jon Rahm has a fighting chance to win at LIV Golf Mayakoba

After the end of round two, Joaquin Niemann is sitting on top of the leaderboard with an under-13 score. With a record score of 59 on the first day, the Chilean golfer made waves on the internet. But he followed it the second day with a lackluster score of 70.

On the other hand, Jon Rahm and Dean Burmester sit in a tied second spot with an under-9. Rahm made his debut with a 66 on the cards and followed it with a 67 the next day. However, the four-stroke lead of Niemann would have made winning a behemoth task for the Spanish golfer.

Trending

Get instantly notified of the hottest Golf stories via Google! Click on Follow Us and Tap the Blue Star.

Follow Us

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

But it looks like the golf gods heard Rahm’s fans’ plea. The LIV Golf officials found Niemann playing the ball from over his one-club-length relief area. Following this, they issued a general two-stroke penalty under the rule 14.7A exception in rule 3.3B(3).

Now the revised score for the Chilean golfer on Hole 13 is 7 in place of 5. This penalty has cut his lead in half over the Spaniard making the final round a close call for the LIV Golf debutant.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

With the calendar opener of the rival league turning out to be a dramatic one, who do you think will ultimately come out on top? Do you think the Chilean golfer will continue his dream run, or will Jon Rahm win his debut event? Let us know in the comments section below.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Written by:

Ajitesh Rawat

981Articles

One take at a time

?Passion fuels purpose, and in the world of gaming, I've found both.? I have been an avid gamer throughout my childhood. Gaming allows me to immerse myself in new worlds and experience them firsthand.
Show More>

Edited by:

Riya Singhal

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

EDITORS' PICK

America’s Favorite Video Today