Share this article

PGA Championship Dream Ends in Bitter Agony After Careless Mistake from Reigning PGA Tour Rookie of the Year

Published 05/19/2023, 2:30 PM EDT

Follow Us

via Imago

The Oak Hills East Course is turning up to be a difficult turf for golf’s elite. With the majority of players ending over par after the opening round, the scores are expected to be low throughout the weekend.

America’s Favorite Video Today

The story remained similar for World No. 15, Cameron Young, who shot 4-over 74 to find himself at the bottom half of the table. But despite a sudden resurgence, a costly mistake has culminated in a penalty, which has all but finished off his chances of earning anything from the tournament.

Cameron Young makes a childish error at the PGA Championship


Article continues below this ad

Like the rest of the field, the 26-year-old golfer wasn’t able to get going in the initial round. However, he looked on course to get in the negatives after shooting three birdies in the second round, before a simple yet horrendous error cost him a hefty penalty.

Teeing off alongside Tommy Fleetwood and Hideki Matsuyama, the trio were playing in their seventh hole of the day at the ‘Straight Away’ 16th hole. Young made an unrealistic 59-foot attempt for birdie, which came to rest merely a few feet short of the cup.


Get instantly notified of the hottest Golf stories via Google! Click on Follow Us and Tap the Blue Star.

Follow Us

Incidentally, his ball was in the line of play for his playing partners, because of which Young moved his ball within a clubhead length to the side. But after Fleetwood and Matsuyama made their putts, the reigning PGA Tour Rookie of the Year made the costly error of proceeding to putt without placing the ball in his original position.

USA Today via Reuters

Though he made par, Young was penalized immediately for his childish mistake. “As a result, when he replaced the ball and holed out, Young had played from a wrong place and incurred the General Penalty (two strokes) for breaching Rule 15.3,” the PGA Championship Rules Committee said in a statement.

Has Cameron Young passed on a golden opportunity at the PGA Championship?

The blunder knocked the spirit out of Young, as he finished with an even worse 75 in the second round. With a total score of nine-over par, the 26-year-old can most certainly book an early flight home.


Article continues below this ad

The incident paints a dull picture of Young’s successes recently. The 26-year-old finished third last year at the PGA Championship, while he also has a top-10 finish at the Open Championship.


Article continues below this ad

Furthermore, he showed glimpses of his talent at the season-opening major championship. Teeing up at the Augusta National, Young finished tied for seventh place in an enthralling display. However, his PGA Championship dream is over for at least another year.

Watch This Story: LIV Golf Series Players Suffer Another Major Setback

Providing feedback will help us make your experience better.

The Fan's Perspective

Enjoyed Your Read? Let us know how likely you are to recommend EssentiallySports to your friends!

Least Likely

Most Likely



Written by:

Sharan Nair


One take at a time

Sharan Nair is a Senior Golf Writer at EssentiallySports. He constantly covers the ongoing PGA vs LIV Golf tussle as it progresses. With over 600 articles to his name, Sharan masters the sport with his in-depth knowledge and research that is reflected in his meticulous coverage of all the Majors.
Show More>

Edited by:

Manaal Siddiqui