WATCH: Bryson DeChambeau’s Caddie Has Nervous Moment With the Flagstick at Ryder Cup 2020

Published 09/25/2021, 2:06 PM EDT
Jun 20, 2021; San Diego, California, USA; Bryson DeChambeau looks over the first green during the final round of the U.S. Open golf tournament at Torrey Pines Golf Course. Mandatory Credit: Michael Madrid-USA TODAY Sports


Bryson DeChambeau has already made his presence known at the Ryder Cup 2020. His match on Day 1 with Scottie Scheffler against Tyrrell Hatton and Jon Rahm ended in a drawn, but the Americans were clearly the dominant force. However, apart from Bryson DeChambeau’s stellar performance, the 28-year-old was making headlines for delivering a mini-heart attack, courtesy of his caddie.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad


Although, DeChambeau also caught everyone’s attention for his birdie on the 1st, along with his massive drive on the 5th. It was his sixth hole that had fans worried.
DIVE DEEPER

SPOTTED: Michael Jordan and Steph Curry Enjoying a Table Chat During the Ryder Cup 2021

25 days ago

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Bryson DeChambeau’s caddie has a nervous moment

At the sixth hole, DeChambeau was getting ready for a birdie. Hence, he asked his caddie, Brian Zeigler, to take care of his flagstick. However, As DeChambeau made his shot, Zeigler was unable to move the flagstick. The moment of madness sent fans straight into a panic. However, the ball never made it to the hole.

Anyway, according to reports, fans can breathe easy as Bryson DeChambeau’s caddie had not put the American at any risk, even if the ball reached the hole. “In the past, prior to 2019, if the ball would’ve hit the flagstick in that case, the player would’ve been penalized,” said Brad Gregory of the PGA of America. This time, as Zeigler was trying to get the stick out, it was an accidental deflection.

 

Close call

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

“He’s trying to get the flagstick out — it would’ve been an accidental deflection and there would be no penalty, and the player would play the ball as it lies, even if it went into the hole,” Brad added.

Sep 3, 2021; Atlanta, Georgia, USA; Bryson DeChambeau celebrates after making a putt on the 18th green during the second round of the Tour Championship golf tournament. Mandatory Credit: Adam Hagy-USA TODAY Sports

Watch This Story

Reports also highlight Rule 13.2b that covers the situation. It confirms that if the ball is in motion and accidentally hits the flagstick (or the person), there will be no penalty. The ball will only have to be played as it lies after that.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Undoubtedly, more drama is sure to follow.

WATCH THIS STORY: How Many PGA Tour Titles Has Bryson DeChambeau Won?

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Devika

314 articles

Devika Pawar is a golf and NBA writer at EssentiallySports. A psychology graduate from KJ Somaiya, she has over two years' worth of sportswriting experience at Republic World. Devika loves NBA a little too much and is a dedicated Golden State Warriors fan.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT