India retain same squad for final two South Africa tests

Published 11/18/2015, 9:57 AM EST
India’s captain Virat Kohli (L) shakes hands with the South African captain Hashim Amla after their second cricket test match was called off due to rain and wet outfield in Bengaluru, India, November 18, 2015. REUTERS/Abhishek N. Chinnappa

BENGALURU (Reuters) – India named an unchanged squad for the remaining two tests against South Africa after the second match of the four-test series ended in a dull draw on Wednesday.


Article continues below this ad

Pace duo Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and all rounder Gurkeerat Singh, who did not feature in the playing XI and were released to play Ranji Trophy matches, have returned to the fold.

India lead the series 1-0, having beaten South Africa inside three days in Mohali before settling for a draw in Bangalore, where rain and a wet outfield did not allow any play after the opening day’s action.

Nagpur hosts the third test from Nov. 25, while Delhi is scheduled to stage the final test from Dec. 3.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Lokesh Rahul, Stuart Binny, Gurkeerat Singh Mann

(Reporting by Amlan Chakraborty in New Delhi; Editing by John O’Brien)



Dhruv George

13381 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.