Launch Times For Valorant Episode 1 Announced

Published 06/01/2020, 2:36 PM EDT


Riot Games took a massive leap earlier this year with their 5v5 character-based tactical multiplayer, Valorant. Despite being the developer’s first venture into the first-person shooter genre, the game has done incredibly well since its closed-beta release in early April.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Last week, on May 28, Valorant’s closed beta went offline to gear up for a full launch. Now, Riot has announced the launch times for the 5v5 first-person shooter’s official worldwide release across several regions on June 2. Valorant is primed and ready to take off.

Valorant releases in a few hours

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Today, June 1, the developers posted a countdown for the build-up to the first season of the game on Twitter. As it will be a full-scale global release across distinct time zones, the game will roll out in phases for countries in various regions around the world.

The Twitter handle for Valorant made the tweet at 12 pm BST listing out the release times for various regions. “LAUNCHING — In 12 hours – Korea, Japan, and most of Asia-Pacific In 18 hours – Europe, Turkey, MENA, Russia, and CIS countries In 25 hours – North America, Latin America, and South America EPISODE 1: IGNITION.

According to the tweet, the June 2 release times for the mentioned regions are as follows:

Korea, Japan, and most of Asia-Pacific- 8:00 am KST, 8:00 am JST, 12:00 am BST (on June 2). 7:00 pm ET, 4:00 pm PT (on June 1).

Europe, Turkey, MENA, Russia, and CIS countries- 6:00 am BST, 7:00 am CEST, 8:00 am EEST, 1:00 am ET (on June 2),10:00 pm PT (on June 1).

North America, Latin America, and South America- 1:00 pm BST, 8:00 am ET, 5:00 am PT (on June 2).

As a result, Japan, Korea, and most of Asia-Pacific will fully experience Valorant Episode 1: Ignition first. Turkey, Europe, Middle East & North Africa, Russia, and CIS countries will follow next. North America, Latin America, and South America will be the last regions to hop on.

DIVE DEEPER

Meet The New Occult Vampire In Valorant

over 1 year ago

What will be the new additions?

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

The full launch of Valorant will bring a ton of new content as well as some changes. Beta progress won’t carry over into the main game. With player accounts reset and new content patched in, everyone will start afresh.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

It seems the initial season will be called “Episode 01: Ignition” and will feature the first battle pass. Moreover, a new Agent, Reyna, will join the combat roster as well as a new map showcased in the teaser trailer for the new agent. The map is based on Italy and is called Ascent.

Apart from that, more content is expected to arrive. However, at this point, the developers have remained tight-lipped about surprise inclusions. More details will likely emerge in the days after Valorant’s launch. For now, Riot’s 5v5 shooter will remain a PC exclusive before it eventually makes its way to other console platforms.

Trending Stories

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

ADVERTISEMENT

Souhardya Biswas

494 articles

Souhardya Biswas is an eSports writer for EssentiallySports. He joined the organisation in 2020, wanting to explore the sphere of professional eSports journalism. His passion for gaming started with titles like GTA San Andreas, Far Cry 2, Modern Warfare 2, FIFA 09, eventually developing an interest in Battle Royale games like PUBG and Apex Legends.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT