MS Dhoni Named Captain of Cricket Australia Team of Decade; Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma Also Included

December 24, 2019 2:12 pm

With 2019 coming to an end, Cricket Australia’s official website has shared their ODI team of the decade, and named former Indian captain MS Dhoni as the captain of this team.

Dhoni successfully captained India to two world cup titles – the T20 World Cup in 2007 and the 50-over World Cup in 2011. Along with him, there are other two Indian batsmen included. They are Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. Rohit had a stunning 2019, which included five centuries in the ICC World Cup. He is one of the openers in this side alongside South Africa’s Hashim Amla.

“The input of MS Dhoni with the bat did tail off during the latter part of the decade, but he was a dominant force in a golden period for India’s one-day side,” shared in a report on its ODI team of the decade. ‘’Having assured his greatness by guiding his nation to World Cup glory on home soil in 2011, the right-hander becomes India’s ultimate finisher with the bat.’’

“Dhoni’s average of more than 50 is undoubtedly boosted by the fact 49 of his innings were unbeaten. But on the 28 occasions he has been not out in a run chase this decade, India have lost only three times. And his work behind the stumps has rarely let him or his bowlers down,” the report further read.

Indian captain Virat Kohli is at number 3, followed by South Africa player AB de Villiers, Bangladesh all-rounder Shakib Al-Hasan, and destructive England wicketkeeper-batsman Jos Buttler and then MS Dhoni who has been given the responsibility behind the stumps ahead of Buttler.

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli

The bowling attack featured with the players like Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga etc.

While Dhoni has been named as the captain of the ODI team, Virat Kohli has been chosen the captain of the Test XI of the decade. Kohli is arguably the best batsman over the last decade. He has already scord 70 international centuries and is only behind Ricky Ponting (71) and Sachin Tendulkar (100). He averages more than 50 in all formats, is also the third highest run-scorers of all time with 21,444 runs, behind Ponting (27,483) and Tendulkar (34,357).

The other players in the Test XI of the decade are – Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, Nathan Lyon and James Anderson.

ODI Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma, Hashim Amla, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, Jos Buttler, MS Dhoni, Rashid Khan, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Lasith Malinga

Test Team of the Decade: Alastair Cook, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, Nathan Lyon, James Anderson

Disqus Comments Loading...