MS Dhoni Named Captain of Robin Uthappa’s ODI Team of the Decade

January 3, 2020 9:44 am

As the decade has ended, a lot of cricket experts have shared their teams of the decade. The team includes those players who have dominated the game from 2010-19. Robin Uthappa has recently revealed his ODI team of the decade and named MS Dhoni as the captain.

Five Indian players in Robin Uthappa’s ODI XI of the Decade

Uthappa’s Playing XI has five Indian cricketers. They are — former India captain MS Dhoni, captain Virat Kohli, limited-over vice-captain Rohit Sharma, former all-rounder Yuvraj Singh and speedster Zaheer Khan.

Along with Rohit, another opener is Universe Boss Chris Gayle. While Rohit Sharma is arguably the best opening batsman in limited-overs cricket right now, Gayle wasn’t too active in ODI throughout the decade. In 96 ODIs, he scored 3,051 runs at an average of 33.52 and a strike rate of 99.15 which included six centuries and 15 half-centuries.

Virat Kohli is the obvious choice in this list after seeing his stunning performances for the last few years. Uthappa also selected Australia batsman Steve Smith. He scored 3,810 runs in 118 ODIs at an average of 41.41 and a strike rate of 46.31. Although he didn’t dominate the format, he is one of the best Test cricketers in recent time.

Virat Kohli

Apart from them, Uthappa has also added former South Africa captain AB de Villiers, former India all-rounder Yuvraj Singh and experienced MS Dhoni in his team. Like Gayly, Yuvraj too had an ordinary ODI in this decade. In 59 ODIs, Yuvraj has scored 1,452 runs at an average of 33 and a strike rate of 81.43.

Among the bowlers, Uthappa has added three pace bowlers. England all-rounder Ben Stokes, experienced Sri Lanka pacer Lasith Malinga and former India pacer Zaheer Khan. Former New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori is the only spinner in the side.

Robin Uthappa’s ODI XI of the Decade

Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, AB de Villiers, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Ben Stokes, Daniel Vettori, Zaheer Khan, Lasith Malinga

Disqus Comments Loading...