Share this article

Can the 2023 NASCAR Cup Season Break an Incredible Thirteen-Year-Old Record?

Published 02/14/2023, 12:14 PM EST

Follow Us

USA Today via Reuters

Over the course of its 75-year lifespan, the NASCAR Cup Series has witnessed several incredible records being made. Chief among them has been the record for the most NASCAR Cup Series titles, which is jointly held by Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, and Jimmie Johnson, with seven each.

America’s Favorite Video Today

There are also other records such as Petty bagging an astounding 200 career wins. Furthermore, another insane statistic is that Kyle Busch is tied with Petty for the most consecutive seasons with a win.

However, there is one particular statistic, which has been very impressive but has flown under the radar. In the 2010 NASCAR Cup season, there were a grand total of 55 different drivers leading at least one lap over the season. Unfortunately, one of them was not Max Papis, who failed to lead a single lap that year.


Article continues below this ad

Only One Super Bowl Champion Has Won a NASCAR Race Ever

What else was so impressive about the 2010 NASCAR Cup season?


Article continues below this ad

It is also worth mentioning that in one race alone, there were 88 lead changes. That came at the Talladega Superspeedway during the fall race. Furthermore, this was also the same year when Jimmie Johnson snatched his fifth consecutive Cup Series title. All in all, there were so many incredible statistics in a very interesting Cup Series season.

via Getty

Of course, it was not the last time Jimmie Johnson showed off his dominance. He went on to win two more titles.

Providing feedback will help us make your experience better.

The Fan's Perspective

Enjoyed Your Read? Let us know how likely you are to recommend EssentiallySports to your friends!

Least Likely

Most Likely


42.6k readers Last 30 min

Get instantly notified of the hottest NASCAR stories via Google! Click on Follow Us and Tap the Blue Star.

Follow Us


Article continues below this ad

Along the way to the 2010 title, he triumphed in six races, beating Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, and Carl Edwards to the crown. Although Edwards won the final race of the season, Johnson’s 2nd place finish was enough to seal the championship. It also helped that Harvick was third and Denny Hamlin was 14th in the season finale. In the end, Johnson sealed the crown by a mere 39 points to Hamlin, with Harvick two points adrift and Edwards 229 points behind.

WATCH THIS STORY: “Love This Idea”—Fans Demand NASCAR Brings Back Tradition From the “Good Old Days”



Dhruv George

14099 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Motorsports author for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.

Edited By: Nischal Kandpal