Chase Elliott Joins the Likes of Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, and Brad Keselowski to Share Special NASCAR Record

November 21, 2020 3:30 pm

Obviously, no NASCAR driver starts right at the top in the Cup Series. It is a gradual progression that takes them through the lower leagues, to the Xfinity, and finally to the Cup Series. However, it is surprisingly rare for drivers to win in more than one series. Now, Chase Elliott has etched his name on that list and joined a few Cup Series rivals.

Elliott is one of only nine drivers to win in more than one series and one of six to win a Cup and Xfinity title. Aside from Chase Elliott, the likes of Bobby Labonte, Brad Keselowski, Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch, and Martin Truex Jr have achieved this feat..

Meanwhile, Greg Biffle, Austin Dillon, and Johnny Benson Jr won an Xfinity and Truck championship. To date, nobody has won a Cup and Truck Series title. However, there is a slight chance that if all goes well, Austin Dillon could be in with a shout of winning a championship in all three categories.

How has Chase Elliott joined this elite company?

Elliott won the Xfinity title in the 2014 season and recently took the 2020 Cup Series crown. Bobby Labonte was the first driver to win, taking the 1991 Busch Series championship and the 2000 Cup Series title. Meanwhile, Biffle won the 2000 Craftsman Truck Series and the 2002 Busch Series. Benson won the 1995 Busch Series and the 2008 Craftsman Truck Series.

Avondale, Arizona, USA; NASCAR driver Chase Elliott celebrates with the championship trophy after winning the NASCAR Cup Series Championship at Phoenix Raceway. Mandatory Credit: Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Kevin Harvick has the longest gap between his Busch Series and Sprint Cup Series titles, winning in 2001 and 2014 respectively. Truex Jr‘s championships came in 2004 and 2017 in the Busch Series and Monster Energy Series.

Keselowski won the 2010 Nationwide and 2012 Sprint Cup Series; Dillon won the 2011 Camping World Truck Series and 2013 Nationwide Series. Kyle Busch‘s titles came in 2009 and 2015 in the Nationwide and Sprint Cup Series. This is a record that not even the likes of Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, or Jimmie Johnson have achieved.

READ MORE“Really Plugged into Racing”- Matt Kenseth Heaps Praise on ‘Always Attentive’ Chase Elliott

Disqus Comments Loading...