Denny Hamlin to Line Up on Pole Position for Talladega Superspeedway Race

Published 09/30/2021, 5:03 AM EDT
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA – SEPTEMBER 26: Denny Hamlin, driver of the #11 FedEx Office Toyota, celebrates in victory lane after winning the NASCAR Cup Series South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on September 26, 2021 in Las Vegas, Nevada. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Fresh from his victory at the Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Denny Hamlin is lining up on pole position at Talladega. He will lead an all-Joe Gibbs Racing front row alongside Kyle Busch. Truthfully speaking, Hamlin is under no pressure, as he has already qualified for the next Playoff round. Behind him come Chase Elliott and Ryan Blaney for Hendrick Motorsports and Team Penske, respectively.


Article continues below this ad

Blaney will actually split Elliott and Hendrick teammate Kyle Larson, who completes the Top 5. Alongside Larson on the third row will be Martin Truex Jr, ahead of an all Penske fourth row of Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano, respectively. Finally, Kevin Harvick, William Byron, Alex Bowman, and Christopher Bell round out the 12 Playoff drivers.

Sep 26, 2021; Las Vegas, Nevada, USA; NASCAR Cup Series driver Denny Hamlin (11) during the South Point 400 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Mandatory Credit: Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

How will everyone else line up behind Denny Hamlin?


Article continues below this ad

Bringing up the first of the non-Playoff drivers will be Tyler Reddick, starting ahead of Kurt Busch. Matt DiBenedetto and Austin Dillon will line up right behind them. Chase Briscoe, Daniel Suarez, Bubba Wallace, and Aric Almirola complete the Top 20 drivers on the grid.

Lining up in 21st place will be Ricky Stenhouse Jr, ahead of Michael McDowell. Row 12 will consist of Ross Chastain and Chris Buescher, and they will start in front of Ryan Newman and Erik Jones. Ryan Preece, Cole Custer, Corey LaJoie, and Anthony Alfredo will complete the Top 30 drivers.

Cody Ware and BJ McLeod will line up in 31st and 32nd, ahead of Justin Allgaier, Josh Bilicki, and Quin Houff. Finally, Joey Gase, Garrett Smithley, Justin Haley, David Starr, and Landon Cassill will bring up the rear of the pack.

While pole-sitter Denny Hamlin is under no obligation to try and win, he may try and help his teammates get into the next round of the Playoffs. Truthfully speaking, Kyle Busch and Martin Truex Jr are relatively safe, but Christopher Bell could use a helping hand. Without a doubt, they will all be keen to take the fight to Hendrick Motorsports. However, they will also have to be wary of the Team Penske threat looming in the background as well.


Denny Hamlin Ties With NASCAR Legend in All-Time Wins List

29 days ago



Dhruv George

12161 articles

Dhruv George is a senior Formula One and NASCAR analyst for EssentiallySports, having authored nearly 12000 articles spanning different sports like F1, NASCAR, Tennis, NFL, and eSports. He graduated with a PG Diploma in Journalism from the Xavier Institute of Communications. Dhruv has also conducted interviews with F1 driver Pierre Gasly and Moto2 rider Tony Arbolino.