Now Reading
How the 2020 NASCAR Awards Ceremony Was Different From Previous Editions

How the 2020 NASCAR Awards Ceremony Was Different From Previous Editions

Recently, NASCAR held its annual awards celebration, but there were a few changes. Admittedly, there wasn’t much pomp or glamor, but the sport found a way to celebrate its champions and other honorees.

Series champions Chase Elliott, Austin Cindric, and Sheldon Creed were among the guests of honor. What made this ceremony different was the fact that it was not a week-long celebration in Nashville, owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Obviously, Chase Elliott closed out the show, but still received a thunderous welcome. Despite this, he confessed that the feeling of being a Cup champion is yet to sink in.

There was also a special segment of the event to honor the departing 7-time champion, Jimmie Johnson. He even received one of the sport’s highest accolades, the Bill France Award of Excellence.

How was the NASCAR Awards 2020 ceremony?

Of course, since this was an important ceremony, NASCAR had to go all out, despite the COVID limitations. More to the point, actor Matthew McConaughey recorded a special video message for Jimmie Johnson.

Additionally, Chase Elliott won the NMPA Most Popular Driver Award for the Cup Series for the 3rd time in a row. Justin Allgaier and rookie Zane Smith also won in the Xfinity and Truck categories.

Smith also won the Truck Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year. Meanwhile, Cole Custer and Harrison Burton grabbed the rookie title for the Cup and Xfinity series.

ALSO READ- WATCH: Jimmie Johnson Reflects on the Best Moments From His Final NASCAR Cup Series Race

Chase Elliott celebrates with his NASCAR Cup Series 2020 trophy
Avondale, AZ, USA; Chase Elliott celebrates winning the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series after winning the Season Finale 500 at Phoenix Raceway in Phoenix, Ariz. Mandatory Credit: Patrick Breen-USA TODAY NETWORK

Additionally, Bubba Wallace received the 2020 Comcast Community Champion of the Year award. This award honors NASCAR personnel for their work in philanthropy.

Ford won the manufacturer’s championship in the Cup Series. Meanwhile, Chevrolet took top honors in the Xfinity and Truck Series.

Finally, Elliott, Cindric, and Creed received a gold 1/12-scale replica of their title-winning vehicle from Goodyear. All 3 champions also received the Sunoco Diamond Performance Award.

READ MORE- “Grateful for the Best Fans” – Chase Elliott Wins the Popular Driver Vote for the 3rd Time

Scroll To Top