Now Reading
Leavine Family Racing Team’s New Owner to Expand the NASCAR Racing Team

Leavine Family Racing Team’s New Owner to Expand the NASCAR Racing Team


Spire Motorsports announced on Tuesday that it will purchase Leavine Family Racing after the completion of the 2020 NASCAR season.

Spire Motorsports will grow to a two-vehicle group in the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series. Bob Leavine recently revealed his intentions of bowing out of the sport towards the end of the season.

“This is an exciting moment for Spire as we take the natural next step in our long-term plan to build our race team and prepare for the Next-Gen car in 2022,” said Spire Motorsports’ co-owner, Jeff Dickerson.

“Bob Leavine invested more than money into LFR and this industry. He built a team brick by brick and we have long admired how he took his own steps in the garage. He also did it with his family at his side.

“We won’t let that be lost in this transaction. When you build something with your family, it always means a little bit more. His ability to connect with fans was genuine and we are thankful he chose us to carry this team forward.”

READ MORE- Can Jimmie Johnson Still Make It to the NASCAR Playoffs?

COVID-19 is the reason for the sale of NASCAR team

Leavine believed that the presentation of the Next-Gen vehicle in 2021 would reduce expenses and allow him to remain in business.

However, the unprecedented damage caused by the Coronavirus pandemic was beyond repair and deferred the new vehicle until 2022.

Dickerson of Spire Motorsports trusts his team to run a two-vehicle team effectively. The purchase incorporates LFR’s charter, the group’s race shop close to Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Spire Motorsports will also claim the entirety of its LFR stock. Although, Joe Gibbs Racing will get the possession of LFR’s vehicles and chassis.

Spire started contending in 2019 after it bought Furniture Row Motorsports’ Charter. It runs the No. 77 Chevrolet. The team has made 58 NASCAR starts for 15 drivers.

The team even won a race in July 2019 at Daytona, with Justin Haley behind the wheel. Subtleties on drivers and makers for the next season have not been declared as yet.

Scroll To Top