Super Bowl LV MVP: Three Players who can win the Prestigious award

Published 02/07/2021, 7:02 PM EST
Nov 22, 2020; Paradise, Nevada, USA; Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes (15) throws against the Las Vegas Raiders during the second half at Allegiant Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

Super Bowl LV is now underway! To cap off what has been a tumultuous 2020 season, the Kansas City Chiefs take on the Tampa Bay Buccaneers in Tampa, Florida for the NFL’s summit tie.


Article continues below this ad

While Aaron Rodgers of the Green Bay Packers picked up the regular season MVP award last night, the Super Bowl MVP is still up for grabs. We take a look at three players who believe might end the night with a Super Bowl ring and the game’s MVP award.

Patrick Mahomes looking to make it a Super Bowl double


Article continues below this ad

The Kansas City Chiefs are chasing their second Super Bowl in as many years. And the man who ended up with the MVP award in the game last year is in the running for it yet again.

Quarterback Patrick Mahomes has taken the league by storm ever since being drafted back in 2018. The quarterback had another stellar season with the Chiefs registering 38 touchdowns for only six interceptions.

Defending both the Super Bowl and his MVP award, Mahomes sure has a lot riding on this game.

Tom Brady looking for Super Bowl MVP Award #5

There’s always a bit of history attached to Tom Brady. The Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback is the only player in NFL history to win four Super Bowl MVP awards. And tonight, Brady is looking to get his hands on #5.

Brady started off slow at Tampa but soon shifted through the gears to inspire his side to an incredible run to the big game. The Buccaneers are the first side in NFL history to be playing a Super Bowl at their home stadium.

And though crowd seating is staggered due to the coronavirus pandemic, home advantage will surely be something in Tom Brady’s favor.

Travis Kelce a strong contender

With the Buccaneers almost certainly putting double coverage on Chiefs speedster Tyreek Hill, the onus will be on Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce to lead the attack.

The tight end has had a phenomenal 2020 campaign. Breaking the record for most receiving yards by a tight end in a single season, Kelce has been near unguardable.

Nov 8, 2020; Tampa, Florida, USA; Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Tom Brady (12) before the game against the New Orleans Saints at Raymond James Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

But history is not on his side though. Despite putting up the numbers throughout the course of the season, Kelce could end up falling prey to the tight end curse. So far, no tight end has ever won the award. And if Kelce does so, he’ll become the first to ever win it.


Article continues below this ad

So with the players set to give it their all for the Lombardi Trophy, which player do you feel will play the most pivotal role in their side’s win?


What Referees Must Look Out for in the Super Bowl Game Between the Kansas City Chiefs & Tampa Bay Buccaneers

4 months ago


Article continues below this ad



Shivayan Roy

746 articles

Shivayan Roy is currently an NFL writer at EssentiallySports. After completing his Masters Diploma in Journalism from the Asian College of Journalism, Roy functioned as a reporter for and extensively covered the FIFA U-17 World Cup.