BREAKING: Fabio Fognini Defaulted Following Verbal Abuse at Barcelona Open 2021

Published 04/21/2021, 12:04 PM EDT
MONTE-CARLO, MONACO – APRIL 21: Fabio Fognini of Italy serves against Dusan Lajovic of Serbia in the men’s singles final during day eight of the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters at Monte-Carlo Country Club on April 21, 2019 in Monte-Carlo, Monaco. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)


Fabio Fognini’s notoriously short fuse cost him his second-round tie at the Barcelona Open on Wednesday as the veteran Italian star was sent packing by the chair umpire for repeated misdemeanors despite being officially warned.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Routed 0-6 in the opening set by Spaniard Bernabe Zapata Miralles, the current World No. 27 was just about staying in the hunt having brought himself level at 4-4 in the second set when another abusive outburst cost him his hopes of progressing to the next round.

Fabio Fognini disqualified from Barcelona Open for exaggerating a verbal abuse

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Fognini had already been cautioned and warned for previous violations on this score, but it clearly didn’t prompt the Italian into putting a leash on his runaway temper.

Deemed to have exaggerated his verbal abuse even after carrying an official reprimand, he was promptly dismissed from the field by the chair umpire.

It was turning out to be a faltering, error-strewn match for Fognini, and had it run its course, he would, in all likelihood, have lost.

With the unforced errors piling up against his name, the Italian was getting increasingly frustrated and the anger boiled over on occasions, drawing censure from the chair umpire. However, matters came to a head at 4-4 in the second set when the World No. 27 let loose a fresh volley of abuse and was summarily expelled from the contest.

Fabio Fognini is the 10th player since 2000 to have defaulted a tie this way

Turns out, Fognini is the 10th player since the year 2000 to have defaulted or forfeited a match this way.

In another similar incident that happened recently, Bosnian tennis star Damir Dzumhur was disqualified from a qualifier clash for the Mexican Open after remonstrating with the chair umpire over a disputed call and allegedly threatened to inflict bodily harm on him.

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

Tennis – ATP Masters 1000 – Italian Open – Foro Italico, Rome, Italy – September 17, 2020, Italy’s Fabio Fognini during his second round match against France’s Ugo Humbert Pool via REUTERS/Riccardo Antimiani

Trailing 5-6 in the first set of the match against Dutchman Botic Van de Zandschulp, the Bosnian stormed off the court after a line call went against him.

DIVE DEEPER

“Bad News Has Arrived” – Fabio Fognini Tests Positive for Coronavirus

7 months ago

ADVERTISEMENT

Article continues below this ad

However, the most high-profile incident came last year when current World No.1 Novak Djokovic was disqualified from the US Open for accidentally hitting a line judge with a tennis ball.

SHARE THIS ARTICLE :

Priyabrata Chowdhury

825 articles

Priyabrata Chowdhury is a tennis author for EssentiallySports. He has been a print journalist for a decade, producing news pages for leading national dailies such as the Hindustan Times and The New Indian Express. His passion for sports eventually drove him to tennis writing.

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT