2021 PGA Championship Round 1: Thursday Tee Times, Featured Groups, TV Coverage, and Live Streaming

Published 05/19/2021, 10:19 AM EDT
May 18, 2021; Kiawah Island, South Carolina, USA; Bryson DeChambeau smiles while walking off the ninth tee during a practice round for the PGA Championship golf tournament at Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Resort. Mandatory Credit: Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

The PGA Championship will be played at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island in 2021. The layout is one of the most challenging ones in America and it will be interesting to see how the world’s best golfers fare at the venue this week. As Round 1 is set to begin on Thursday, here’s everything you need to know about tee times, featured groups, and live coverage. 


Article continues below this ad

Collin Morikawa will enter the 2021 PGA Championship as the defending champion. Morikawa won last year at TPC Harding Park, but the odds are against him this time at The Ocean Course. 

Rory McIlroy is the favorite to win this year as McIlroy reigned supreme at the 2012 PGA Championship when it was held at The Ocean course for the first time. Only time will tell which golfer will emerge as the champion this year. 


Article continues below this ad

May 17, 2021; Kiawah Island, South Carolina, USA; Rory Mcilroy watches a chip shot during a practice round for the PGA Championship golf tournament at Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Resort. Mandatory Credit: David Yeazell-USA TODAY Sports

2021 PGA Championship Featured Groups

The PGA of America announced eight threesomes as featured groups for the first round of the PGA Championship. Four featured groups will take up the morning tee time, while the other four will tee off in the afternoon. 


Featured GroupTee Time
Rickie Fowler, Adam Scott, and Tyrrell Hatton7:38 a.m.
Xander Schauffele, Viktor Hovland, and Lee Westwood8:22 a.m.
Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, and Brooks Koepka8:33 a.m.
Collin Morikawa, Hideki Matsuyama, and Bryson DeChambeau8:44 a.m.


Featured GroupTee Time
Phil Mickelson, Jason Day, and Padraig Harrington1:14 p.m.
Jon Rahm, Tommy Fleetwood, and Patrick Reed1:25 p.m.
Jordan Spieth, Webb Simpson, and Will Zalatoris1:58 p.m.
Dustin Johnson, Shane Lowry, and Sergio Garcia2:09 p.m.

Round 1 Tee Times for All Players

1st tee

Tee TimePlayers
7 a.m.Patrick Rada, Adam Long, Cameron Tringale
7:11 a.m.Dylan Frittelli, Larkin Gross, Matt Jones
7:22 a.m.Byeong Hun An, Derek Holmes, George Coetzee
7:33 a.m.Bernd Wiesberger, Tom Hoge, Joel Dahmen
7:44 a.m.John Daly, Jimmy Walker, Jason Dufner
7:55 a.m.Kevin Kisner, Martin Laird, Hudson Swafford
8:06 a.m.Henrik Stenson, Danny Willett, Bubba Watson
8:17 a.m.Keegan Bradley, Martin Kaymer, Charl Schwartzel
8:28 a.m.Harris English, Stewart Cink, Alex Noren
8:39 a.m.Kevin Na, Tom Lewis, Jason Kokrak
8:50 a.m.Jason Scrivener, Stuart Smith, Emiliano Grillo
9:01 a.m.Brad Marek, Peter Malnati, Lanto Griffin
9:12 a.m.Mark Geddes, Denny McCarthy, Rikuya Hoshino
12:30 p.m.Frank Bensel, Jr., Robert Streb, Kurt Kitayama
12:41 p.m.Alex Beach, Daniel van Tonder, Wyndham Clark
12:52 p.m.Abraham Ancer, Max Homa, Sam Burns
1:03 p.m.Tony Finau, Matt Fitzpatrick, Corey Conners
1:14 p.m.Phil Mickelson, Jason Day, Padraig Harrington
1:25 p.m.Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Patrick Reed
1:36 p.m.Gary Woodland, Justin Rose, Cameron Smith
1:47 p.m.Steve Stricker, Billy Horschel, Daniel Berger
1:58 p.m.Webb Simpson, Will Zalatoris, Jordan Spieth
2:09 p.m.Dustin Johnson, Shane Lowry, Sergio Garcia
2:20 p.m.Thomas Pieters, Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar
2:31 p.m.Chris Kirk, Pete Ballo, Cam Davis
2:42 p.m.Dean Burmester, Greg Koch, K.H. Lee

10th tee

Tee TimePlayers
7:05 a.m.Ben Polland, Talor Gooch, Harry Higgs
7:16 a.m.Rob Labritz, Brendan Steele, Harold Varner III
7:27 a.m.Paul Casey, Garrick Higgo, Marc Leishman
7:38 a.m.Rickie Fowler, Adam Scott, Tyrrell Hatton
7:49 a.m.Robert MacIntyre, Cameron Champ, John Catlin
8 a.m.Zach Johnson, Francesco Molinari, Scottie Scheffler
8:11 a.m.Louis Oosthuizen, Ryan Palmer, Thomas Detry
8:22 a.m.Lee Westwood, Viktor Hovland, Xander Schauffele
8:33 a.m.Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Brooks Koepka
8:44 a.m.Collin Morikawa, Bryson DeChambeau, Hideki Matsuyama
8:55 a.m.Charley Hoffman, Matt Wallace, Erik van Rooyen
9:06 a.m.Chan Kim, Brett Walker, Brian Gay
9:17 a.m.Aaron Wise, Sonny Skinner, Kalle Samooja
12:25 p.m.Si Woo Kim, Danny Balin, Jim Herman
12:36 p.m.Sami Valimaki, Joe Summerhays, Richy Werenski
12:47 p.m.Sebastian Munoz, Tim Pearce, Sam Horsfield
12:58 p.m.Y.E. Yang, Shaun Micheel, Rich Beem
1:09 p.m.Joaquin Niemann, J.T. Poston, Aaron Rai
1:20 p.m.Branden Grace, Adam Hadwin, Rasmus Hojgaard
1:31 p.m.Russell Henley, Jazz Janewattananond, Carlos Ortiz
1:42 p.m.Andy Sullivan, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Kevin Streelman
1:53 p.m.Ian Poulter, Brian Harman, Sungjae Im
2:04 p.m.Antoine Rozner, Chez Reavie, Brandon Stone
2:15 p.m.Victor Perez, Omar Uresti, Maverick McNealy
2:26 p.m.Tyler Collet, Brendon Todd, Lucas Herbert
2:37 p.m.Ben Cook, Mackenzie Hughes, Takumi Kanaya

2021 PGA Championship: How to watch live coverage of Round 1

One can watch the 2021 PGA Championship through TV coverage or live streaming. Here are the details:

TV Live Coverage Round 1


Article continues below this ad

Thursday: 7 a.m.-1 p.m. (ESPN+), 1 p.m.-7 p.m. (ESPN)

Live Streaming

Thursday: 7 a.m.-1 p.m. (ESPN+), Featured Groups: All day (ESPN+)


Article continues below this ad

Read Also: 2021 PGA Championship Venue: Get to Know Everything About The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island


Arjun Athreya

1914 articles

Arjun Athreya is a senior writer at Essentially Sports and has been contributing since early 2020. Having developed an avid interest in sports at an early age, he pursued a Journalism degree and graduated from Madras Christian College. Arjun manages the Golf division and its content, and primarily covers news pertaining to the NBA as well.