2021 Valspar Championship: Thursday Tee Times, Featured Groups, Top Picks, TV Coverage, and Live Streaming

Published 04/28/2021, 5:09 AM EDT
Mar 11, 2021; Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA; Dustin Johnson hits his tee shot on the 10th hole during the first round of The Players Championship golf tournament at TPC Sawgrass – Stadium Course. Mandatory Credit: Jasen Vinlove-USA TODAY Sports

The Valspar Championship is returning in 2021. The PGA Tour will stop at the much-awaited Innisbrook Resort and the field is already set. Several top players are competing at the 2021 Valspar Championship and here’s everything you need to know about the first round on Thursday. 


Article continues below this ad

The 2021 Valspar Championship kickstarts from April 29 at the challenging Copperhead course. Two-time champion Paul Casey will look to defend his crown this year, but the Englishman would be aware of the threat he’ll be up against. 

2021 Valspar Championship: Featured Groups


Article continues below this ad

The 2021 Valspar Championship will see four featured groups steal all the action for the first 36-holes. 12 of the best players on  the field have been put into four different groups and here’s how it looks: 

Group 1Justin Thomas/Dustin Johnson/Joaquin Niemann
Group 2Max Homa/Viktor Hovland/Sungjae Im
Group 3Patrick Reed/Kiradech Aphibarnrat/Phil Mickelson
Group 4Paul Casey/Gary Woodland/Jason Kokrak

Tee times for Round 1, Saturday

More than 150 players are a part of the field for the 2021 Valspar Championship. Here are the tee times for all of them for Round 1 on Saturday (all times Eastern): 

1st tee

Tee TimePlayers
6:55 a.m.Byeong Hun An, Abraham Ancer, Jamie Lovemark
7:06 a.m.James Hahn, Emiliano Grillo, John Huh
7:17 a.m.Ryan Moore, Chris Kirk, Bo Van Pelt
7:28 a.m.Jim Herman, Andrew Putnam, Kevin Streelman
7:39 a.m.Martin Laird, Kevin Tway, Ryan Armour
7:50 a.m.Keith Mitchell, Keegan Bradley, Wesley Bryan
8:01 a.m.Martin Trainer, Henrik Stenson, William McGirt
8:12 a.m.Nick Taylor, Pat Perez, Mackenzie Hughes
8:23 a.m.Lanto Griffin, Austin Cook, Jason Dufner
8:34 a.m.Sean O’Hair, Kyoung-Hoon Lee, Robby Shelton
8:45 a.m.Jonas Blixt, Charley Hoffman, Daniel Chopra
8:56 a.m.Adam Hadwin, Sam Ryder, Doug Ghim
9:07 a.m.Hank Lebioda, Brad Adamonis, Michael Visacki
12:05 p.m.Vaughn Taylor, Cameron Tringale, Bronson Burgoon
12:16 p.m.Chesson Hadley, Lucas Glover, D.J. Trahan
12:27 p.m.Scott Stallings, Scott Brown, Louis Oosthuizen
12:38 p.m.Branden Grace, Graeme McDowell, Charles Howell III
12:49 p.m.J.T. Poston, Brandt Snedeker, Russell Knox
1 p.m.Max Homa, Viktor Hovland, Sungjae Im
1:11 p.m.Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Joaquin Niemann
1:22 p.m.Richy Werenski, Adam Long, Luke Donald
1:33 p.m.Scottie Scheffler, Mark Hubbard, Bo Hoag
1:44 p.m.Tom Hoge, Doc Redman, Tom Lewis
1:55 p.m.Peter Malnati, Peter Uihlein, Henrik Norlander
2:06 p.m.Rafael Campos, Michael Gligic, Chase Koepka
2:17 p.m.Kramer Hickok, Ryan Brehm, Jordan Hahn

10th tee

Tee TimePlayers
6:55 a.m.Jhonattan Vegas, K.J. Choi, Kelly Kraft
7:06 a.m.David Hearn, Xinjun Zhang, Matthew NeSmith
7:17 a.m.Aaron Baddeley, Hunter Mahan, Patrick Rodgers
7:28 a.m.Tyler Duncan, Grayson Murray, Kevin Stadler
7:39 a.m.Corey Conners, J.B. Holmes, Bubba Watson
7:50 a.m.Jason Kokrak, Gary Woodland, Paul Casey
8:01 a.m.Patrick Reed, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Phil Mickelson
8:12 a.m.Hudson Swafford, Chez Reavie, Kevin Kisner
8:23 a.m.Kevin Na, Sung Kang, Scott Piercy
8:34 a.m.Brian Stuard, Tim Wilkinson, Sam Burns
8:45 a.m.Russell Henley, Nick Watney, Beau Hossler
8:56 a.m.Rob Oppenheim, Vincent Whaley, John Augenstein
9:07 a.m.Brandon Hagy, Kris Ventura, Sam Horsfield
12:05 p.m.Camilo Villegas, Alex Noren, Cameron Davis
12:16 p.m.Charl Schwartzel, Talor Gooch, Cameron Percy
12:27 p.m.Kyle Stanley, Adam Schenk, Chase Seiffert
12:38 p.m.Andrew Landry, Troy Merritt, Kevin Chappell
12:49 p.m.Justin Rose, Jimmy Walker, Danny Willett
1 p.m.Brian Gay, Ian Poulter, Ted Potter, Jr.
1:11 p.m.Ryan Palmer, D.A. Points, Zach Johnson
1:22 p.m.Michael Kim, Satoshi Kodaira, Patton Kizzire
1:33 p.m.Rafa Cabrera Bello, Denny McCarthy, Erik van Rooyen
1:44 p.m.J.J. Spaun, Wyndham Clark, Scott Harrington
1:55 p.m.Danny Lee, Rory Sabbatini, Luke List
2:06 p.m.Joseph Bramlett, Sebastian Cappelen, Rod Perry
2:17 p.m.Roger Sloan, Nelson Ledesma, Rasmus Hojgaard

How to watch the 2021 Valspar Championship

The 2021 Valspar Championship can be viewed through TV as well as Live Streaming on mobile or other devices. Here’s how to watch the first round coverage: 

TV Live coverage

Thursday – 2 p.m.-6 p.m. ET (Golf Channel) 

Live Streaming

Thursday – 7 a.m.-6 p.m. ET (Featured Groups) (PGA Tour Live)

Top Picks

The Valspar Championship is one of the most challenging events on the PGA Tour. The Copperhead course is regarded as a daunting layout, and Paul Casey is currently the defending champion here. 


Article continues below this ad

Casey won it consecutively in 2018 and 2019 and became the first player to do so at the Valspar Championship. Of course, he’s a top pick to win the event in 2021, but there are other names as well. 

Reigning FedEx Cup Champion Dustin Johnson is expected to pose a strong challenge, while 2021 Players Championship winner Justin Thomas is also a part of the field. One among these three players is expected to land the title at the 2021 Valspar Championship, but guys like Corey Conners and Justin Rose make the power rankings as well.


Article continues below this ad

Read Also: Max Homa Brags on Twitter After Achieving Career Milestone


Arjun Athreya

1804 articles

Arjun Athreya is a senior writer at Essentially Sports and has been contributing since early 2020. Having developed an avid interest in sports at an early age, he pursued a Journalism degree and graduated from Madras Christian College. Arjun manages the Golf division and its content, and primarily covers news pertaining to the NBA as well.