Home/Golf
Home/Golf
feature-image

Getty

feature-image

Getty

The 2022 Players Championship is currently underway at the TPC Sawgrass. However, the tournament is facing weather delays as it took 54 hours for players to complete their first round. As a result, the event that was scheduled for a Sunday finish is still in the second round. So most probably, we can expect a Monday or even a Tuesday finish if the weather doesn’t improve. 

Watch What’s Trending Now!

Players were struggling a lot with their game, especially on the 17th hole on Saturday. Apart from Justin Thomas and Bubba Watson, no one had a bogey-free round. Notably, a hilarious thing happened with Zach Johnson while teeing off on the 18th hole. So let us have a look at it. 

ADVERTISEMENT

Top Stories

Tiger Woods’ Treatment of Caddies Set Him Apart from PGA Tour Rivals, Confesses Steve Williams

Rickie Fowler Comes Clean on Health Issue Stopping Him from Playing PGA Tour Events

LIV Golf Signs a Deal With PGA Tour’s 20-Year-Long Partner in Another Shocking Move

Is There a Cut at Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship 2025? Format of DP World Tour Event Explained

DP World Tour to Stand Apart from PGA Tour’s Harsh Stance on Pros’ Involvement in LIV Golf Event – Report

ADVERTISEMENT

Zach Johnson accidentally hits the ball during a practice swing 

Zach Johnson had a terrible start to his second round with two double bogeys and a bogey in the first eight holes. Furthermore, as he stood on the 18th tee with a driver in his hand, he made a practice swing. However, in this process, Zach accidentally hit the ball that went to the right side. 

Watch This Story: WATCH: Rare Video of Tiger Woods Effortlessly Juggling a Golf Ball

ADVERTISEMENT

Read Top Stories First From EssentiallySports

Click here and check box next to EssentiallySports

After seeing this, everyone around started laughing, including Johnson himself. He said, “I hope that’s on camera,” with a smile on his face.  

Meanwhile, it is imperative to note that he did not receive any penalty as it was not counted as a stroke. According to Rule 6.2b, the ball is not in play until a stroke is made at it from the teeing area. So when the ball is teed or on the ground in the teeing area, and the practice swing accidentally strikes and moves the ball, it is not considered a stroke. Hence, a player gets to re-tee the ball without any penalty. 

ADVERTISEMENT

Therefore, that’s what the team U.S. skipper for the 2023 Ryder Cup did and completed the hole with a par. But what is the reaction of the golfing world to this funny incident? Let us have a look at it. 

Golf world reacts to Zach Johnson’s hilarious incident at the 2022 Players Championship

ADVERTISEMENT

Read More – Want to Take Care of People’: When Phil Mickelson Made a Sentimental Statement

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT