Hero World Challenge 2021: Strong 20-Man Field Locked In for Tiger Woods’ Invitational Event

Published 10/18/2021, 1:00 PM EDT
ATLANTA, GA – SEPTEMBER 23: Tiger Woods of the United States reacts during the trophy presentation ceremony after winning the TOUR Championship at East Lake Golf Club on September 23, 2018 in Atlanta, Georgia. (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

The 2021 Hero World Challenge is all set to begin on December 2nd. Moreover, Tiger Woods is the host of the limited-field PGA Tour event. Meanwhile, The Hero World Challenge field is increased from 18 players to 20 players, with Albany, Bahamas, being the host for the event. Notably, recently, they announced the 20 players who will be participating in this event. 


Article continues below this ad

Meanwhile, the tournament is a benefit for the Tiger Woods Foundation, and even though this event is a part of the PGA Tour, but it doesn’t offer any FedExCup points. Moreover, the organizers have announced the field for this event. 


Article continues below this ad

Qualification criteria 

The organizers determine the field for Hero World Challenge via various criteria. The winner of The Players Championship receives an automatic invitation. Moreover, the defending champion of this event and the current year’s major winners also receive the invitation. However, since there was no Hero World Challenge event in 2020, the major winners from 2020 have also received the invitation. 

INZAI, JAPAN – OCTOBER 28: Tiger Woods of the United States hits his tee shot on the 16th hole during the final round of the Zozo Championship at Accordia Golf Narashino Country Club on October 28, 2019 in Inzai, Chiba, Japan. (Photo by Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images)

Meanwhile, this year’s field has fifteen players ranked inside the top 20 in the OWGR. While Collin Morikawa, the 2020 PGA Championship and 2021 Open Championship winner, will make his tournament debut. 

Watch This Story: Former Tour Pro Strongly Explains Why Another Golfer Will Inevitably ‘Chase Down’ Tiger Woods

The 2021 Hero World Challenge field

Collin Morikawa (3)  

Viktor Hovland (14) 

Patrick Cantlay (4) 

Jordan Spieth (15) 

Xander Schauffele (5) 

Daniel Berger (16) 

Justin Thomas (6) 

Tyrrell Hatton (17) 

Bryson DeChambeau (7) 

Hideki Matsuyama (18) 

Tony Finau (9)

Patrick Reed (19)

Brooks Koepka (10) 

Harris English (11) 

Abraham Ancer (12)

Rory McIlroy (13)

Henrik Stenson, defending champion

Webb Simpson, tournament exemption

Scottie Scheffler, tournament exemption

Justin Rose, tournament exemption.


Article continues below this ad

So, these are the 20 players who will be competing at Tiger Woods’ 2021 Hero World Challenge. Moreover, Golf Channel and NBC will provide coverage for this event from December 2 to 5. 


Article continues below this ad

Meanwhile, the field for the Hero World Challenge features three previous winners of this event in Henrik Stenson (2019), Hideki Matsuyama (2016), and Jordan Spieth (2014). Meanwhile, the proceeds from this event will benefit the TGR Foundation, Tavistock Foundation, and Bahamas Youth Foundation. 


How Much Did Rory McIlroy, Collin Morikawa, and Rickie Fowler Win at CJ Cup 2021?

about 2 months ago



Amey Kulkarni

532 articles

Amey Kulkarni is a Golf writer at EssentiallySports. He is currently pursuing his Bachelor’s degree in mass media from HR College, Mumbai. Before joining EssentiallySports he used to write articles on Golf and Cricket on his personal blog cricgolf.