Now Reading
Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray to Play Davis Cup Finals 2019

Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray to Play Davis Cup Finals 2019

The Davis Cup Finals 2019 is set to get underway on November 18, 2019, at the Caja Magica in Madrid, Spain and a total of 18 nations will be participating in the event, and the three of ‘Big Four’ players will be there in the event. 

The tournament consists of six groups and three teams in each of the groups. The winners of each group will be moved into the quarterfinals including the two best runners-up in the last-eight stage.

Within each group, there will be two singles and a doubles rubber and all the matches will be in the form of best of three tiebreak sets.

The Spaniard, Rafael Nadal will be leading the host team and Roberto Bautista Agut, Feliciano Lopez, Marcel Granollers, and Pablo Carreno Busta are there in Spain’s team.

The host team, Spain will play against Russia and Croatia. The Russian team will consist of two brand new entrants in the top-ten of the ATP roster, namely, Daniil Medvedev and Karen Khachanov.

The Croatian squad will be led there the former US Open champion, Marin Cilic. Borna Coric, Ivan Dodig, Mate Pavic and Nikola Mektic will be part of his team.

Davis Cup Finals 2019
Team Russia

The Serbian tennis icon, Novak Djokovic will be leading his team along with Dusan Lajovic, Viktor Troicki, Filip Krajinovic and Janko Tipsarevic and they will be playing against Japan and France.

The resurged star on the ATP circuit, Andy Murray, recently won the first title since his surgery in Antwerp after defeating the Swiss, Stan Wawrinka. The Brit, Murray will be representing his nation. He will be coordinating with Dan Evans, Jamie Murray, and Neal Skupski. The British team is yet to choose between Kyle Edmund or Cameron Norrie as their fifth participant.

The two North American nations, Canada and USA are placed under the same group. The Canadians have a strong line-up which includes, Milos Raonic, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, and Vasek Pospisil. The Americans will be missing out on their number one player, John Isner and their team comprise of Frances Tiafoe, Taylor Fritz, Reilly Opelka, Jack Sock, and Sam Querrey. 

The Davis Cup Finals 2019 teams are listed below:

Group A

France: Gael Monfils, Benoit Paire, Jo-Wilfred Tsonga, Pierre-Hughes Herbert, Nicolas Mahut

Serbia: Novak Djokovic, Dusan Lajovic, Viktor Troicki, Filip Krajinovic, Janko Tipsarevic

Japan: Yoshihito Nishioka, Yasutaka Uchiyama, Taro Daniel, Ben McLachlan, Yuichi Sugita

Group B

Croatia: Marin Cilic, Borna Coric, Ivan Dodig, Mate Pavic, Nikola Mektic

Spain: Rafael Nadal, Roberto Bautista Agut, Pablo Carreno Busta, Marcel Granollers, Feliciano Lopez

Russia: Daniil Medvedev, Karen Khachanov, Evgeny Donskoy, Andrey Rublev

Group C

Argentina: Diego Schwartzman, Guido Pella, Leonardo Mayer, Horacio Zeballos

Germany: Jan-Lennard Struff, Philipp Kohlschreiber, Dominik Koepfer, Andreas Mies, Kevin Krawietz

Chile: Cristian Garin, Nicolas Jarry, Alejandro Tabilo, Marcelo Barrios, Hans Podlipnik-Castillo

Group D

Belgium: David Goffin, Kimmer Coppejans, Sander Gille, Joran Vliegen, Steve Darcis

Australia: TBA

Colombia: TBA

Group E

Great Britain: Dan Evans, Andy Murray, Jamie Murray, Neal Skupski

Kazakhstan: TBA

Netherlands: TBA

Group F

Italy: Fabio Fognini, Matteo Berrettini, Andreas Seppi, Lorenzo Sonego, Simone Bolelli

USA: Frances Tiafoe, Taylor Fritz, Reilly Opelka, Jack Sock, Sam Querrey

Canada: Milos Raonic, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Denis Shapovalov, Vasek Pospisil

Scroll To Top