Now Reading
Ricky Ponting Unveils His Test Team of the Decade; Names Virat Kohli as Captain

Ricky Ponting Unveils His Test Team of the Decade; Names Virat Kohli as Captain

Virat Kohli

As the decade comes to an end, a lot of cricket experts are revealing their teams of the decade. The team includes those players who have dominated the game from 2010-19. Former Australia captain Ricky Ponting has recently revealed his Test team of the decade and named Virat Kohli as the captain.

He took to Twitter on Monday (December 30) and shared his team. India captain Kohli is the at No. 1 batsman in both ICC Test and ODI rankings and the only Indian in Ponting’s Test team of the decade.

Ricky Ponting’s Test Team of the decade

Ricky Ponting
File photo of Ricky Ponting

“Everyone’s picking teams of the decade so I thought I’d join in the fun,” Ricky Ponting wrote on his Twitter handle. “This would be my Test team of the 2010’s: David Warner, Alastair Cook, Kane Williamson, Steve Smith, Virat Kohli (c), Kumar Sangakkarra (wk), Ben Stokes, Dale Steyn, Nathan Lyon, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.”

On the other hand, Kohli was also included in the list of Wisden’s five cricketers of the decade. He has an unbelievable cricketing achievements in the decade. He has already smashed up 70 international centuries and only behind Ricky Ponting (71) and batting maestro Sachin Tendulkar (100).

Virat has an average of more than 50 across formats. He is also the third-highest run-getters of all time with 21,444 runs, behind Ponting (27,483) and Tendulkar (34,357).

Recently, veteran commentator Harsha Bhogle also picked up his ODI and T20I team of the year. Kohli was the common face there too. Apart from Kohli, India opener Rohit Sharma and speedster Jasprit Bumrah have been included in the ODI team of the year. For T20 team of the year, KL Rahul and Deepak Chahar were there along with Kohli from India.

Harsha Bhogle’s ODI Team of the year

Rohit Sharma, Jason Roy, Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Jasprit Bumrah, and Kuldeep Yadav

Harsha Bhogle’s T20 Team of the year

David Warner, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell, Mohammad Nabi, Chris Jordan, Deepak Chahar, Lasith Malinga and Imran Tahir.

Scroll To Top