Share this article

Australian Open 2021

The first Grand Slam of the year, Australian Open 2021, will begin on the hard courts of Melbourne. It will be the 109th edition of the Grand Slam of Asia-Pacific.

Where will the Australian Open be held?

Known as the 'happy slam' the Australian Open 2021 will be held at the Melbourne Park in Melbourne, Australia. It is played on cushion acrylic hard courts and is organized by Tennis Australia.

via Getty

When will the Australian Open 2021 be held?

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Australian Open was delayed. It is yearly played during last weeks of January, but this year it will be held from the 8th of February to the 21st of February.

What is different at the Australian Open 2021?

The Australian Open 2021 is very different because of the coronavirus pandemic. The major change is in the qualifying rounds that will now be played outside Australia. The women's qualifying event will take place in Doha, Qatar whereas the men's qualifying event will take place in Dubai, UAE. The Junior Australian Open tournament has been postponed.

Coming to the spectators, the organizers of the Australian Open are confident of holding 50% of the spectator count of the Grand Slam. The 2020 Australian Open had a record spectator count of 812,000 people.

Prior to the Grand Slam, players will be quarantined under strict protocols for 14 days.

Australian Open 2021 defending champions

World No.1 Novak Djokovic is the defending champion in men's singles. He is the record holder for most Australian Open titles.

via Getty

American ace Sofia Kenin is the defending champion in women's singles. She won her first Grand Slam in Melbourne last year.

The duo of Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury are the defending men's doubles champions from 2020. And Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic are the defending women’s doubles champions.

Barbora Krejčíková and Nikola Mektić are the defending mixed doubles champions in the 2021 Australian Open.

via Getty

Australian Open 2021 Prize Money

Despite the coronavirus pandemic hiccup, the organizers have managed to carry forward the same prize money of $71.5 million from the 2020 edition.

Australian Open 2021 Schedule

The Australian Open 2021 will begin on 8th February. It will have both day and night sessions. The day sessions will begin at 11 am EST. And the night sessions begin on 7 pm EST.

Which channels are showing the Australian Open?

Africa: bein sports, Eurosport, SuperSport

Central Asia: Eurosport, Sony Six

Middle East: bein sports, Eurosport

Indian Subcontinent: Sony Six

China: CCTV, iQIYI, Guangdong TV, Great Sports Channel (Shanghai), Fox Sports.


Southeast Asia: Fox Sports

Australia: Nine

New Zealand: Sky

Europe (all territories): Eurosport,

Europe (local): SRG SSR, RTVS.SK, ServusTV

Latin America and Caribbean: ESPN International

Canada: TSN, RDS

USA: ESPN, Tennis Channel