French Open 2021

The second Grand Slam of the year, French Open 2021 began on the clay courts of Paris on the 30th of May. It was the 125th edition of the only clay-court Grand Slam on the calendar.

Where was the French Open 2021 held?

Also known as Roland Garros, it was held in the Stade Roland Garros. The main stadium of the complex is called Court Philippe Chatrier and has a capacity of 15,000. In 2020, Court Philippe Chatrier debuted its retractable roof.

A general view inside Court Philippe Chatrier during the ladies singles final between Sloane Stephens of The United States and Simona Halep of Romania during day fourteen of the 2018 French Open at Roland Garros on June 9, 2018 in Paris, France. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

French Open 2021 schedule


Article continues below this ad

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the French Open 2021 was delayed by a week. The main draw fixtures were originally slated to start on the 23rd of May, but the revised starting date was 30th May. The Grand Slam ended on 13th June.

Like 2020, Roland Garros 2021 also had both day and night sessions. The day sessions began at 11 am EST. And the night sessions began at 7 pm EST.

French Open 2021 defending champions

Rafael Nadal was the defending champion in 2021. He had won a record-extending 13th French Open title beating his rival Novak Djokovic in the 2020 final.

Rafael Nadal of Spain celebrates after winning championship point during his Men's Singles Final against Novak Djokovic of Serbia on day fifteen of the 2020 French Open at Roland Garros in Paris, France. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

On the women's side, teenager Iga Swiatek was the defending champion having won the title in 2020 without dropping a set and defeating Sofia Kenin in the finals.

The German duo of Kevin Krawietz and Andreas Mies are the defending men's doubles champions from 2020. And Timea Babos and Kristina Mladenovic are the defending women’s doubles champions.

PARIS, FRANCE - OCTOBER 11: Iga Swiatek of Poland poses on the rooftop of les Galeries Lafayettes Rue de la Chaussee d'Antin with the Suzanne Lenglen Cup following her victory in the Women's Singles Final against Sofia Kenin of The United States of America on day fifteen of the 2020 French Open on October 11, 2020 in Paris, France. (Photo by Clive Brunskill/Getty Images)

Latisha Chan and Ivan Dodig are the defending mixed doubles champions from 2019. French Open 2020 did not have the mixed doubles event.

French Open 2021 Prize Money

Roland Garros 2021 also suffered the wrath of the coronavirus pandemic. For the second successive edition, the Grand Slam witnessed a reduction in its prize money.

The total prize money in 2020 was €38,000,000. In 2021, that figure saw a 10 percent decrease to €34,367,215. The winners and runner-up prize money had decreased but the first-round prize money remained the same.

In 2020, the winner received €1.6 million, whereas in 2021 the champion received €1.4 million.

PARIS, FRANCE - JUNE 01: The Roland Garros logo is seen outside the VIP village on day nine of the 2015 French Open at Roland Garros on June 1, 2015 in Paris, France. (Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images)

French Open 2021 spectator count

2021 brought a considerable amount of fans back into the stadiums. French Open 2021 was postponed and hence the relaced COVID-19 rules gave the organizers some liberty.

5388 spectators were allowed in the initial rounds of the tournament. The spectator count was later increased in the last stages of the Grand Slam.

Which channels are showing the French Open 2021?

France - Sport, Amazon Prime Video

Europe (all territories) - Eurosport

Europe (local) - ITV,, SRG SSR, eirsport, ORF, EPT, Radio

Televijiza Slovenija, Televizia Markiza, PTS, Kyle, Eesti Meedia, Ceska

Televize, Hrvastska radiotelevizija, PTPC, RTCG

USA - NBC Sports, Tennis Channel, Peacock TV

Canada - RDS, TSN

Latin-America - ESPN

Brazil - Band Sports

North-Africa and Middle-east - beIN Sports

Sub-Saharan Africa - SuperSport, Canal+

India - Star Sports

China - CMG

South-East Asia - Fox Sports


Article continues below this ad

Japan - TV Tokyo, WOWOW

Australia - Channel Nine

New Zealand -Sky


Article continues below this ad

South Korea - JTBC (Fox Sports)